We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Rome”
Review of Osteria del Pegno

Osteria del Pegno
Ranked #262 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: Small restaurant of 40 seats, with wood-baked bread and home desserts Located in the psrimo mount of the pawns of roma instituted by the pope 5 (1400a.c.) Of remarkable historical interest.All the dishes are homemade (also baked bread and idessert) Reviewed by leading international guides
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Rome”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I looked for simple, local places to eat when we were in Rome. This was on a list of about 10 recommendations that a friend had given me, and was by far the best. It's a small restaurant tucked away down a narrow street that doesn't get a huge amount of traffic. The meal started with freshly baked bread with olives. My zucchini salad, in addition to being simple and delicious, was huge - there was probably an entire zucchini in there. And the pastas were fantastic. Homemade pasta, well made and high-quality ingredients. It was so good we tried to go back there another day but were disappointed that it was closed that day. Service was very friendly as well. It seems to get full quickly, so I recommend showing up early or making a reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j8g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    303
    67
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

One of the great treats for my wife and I while traveling is to 'stumble' upon a great meal. We have used a tried and true technique that has been very reliable. I went into a small store to bu some oh-so-stylish Italian socks, and once the transaction was completed, I asked the shop-keeper where she goes for lunch. She was delighted to tell us about a little osteria around the corner, no tourists, great food. It was sensational. It is difficult, though not impossible, to have a bad meal in Italy. This one was truly memorable. It is tucked away on a small street in a great neighborhood near the Piazza Navona. GO! Be sure to reserve a table-the owner was turning away walk-ins the entire time we were there...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to return”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was fabulous. We were unable to confirm our reservation however the manager was still able to squeeze us in. The atmosphere was lovely. The service excellent. More importantly however, the food was delicious. The pasta was exceptional. The veal and sea bass cooked perfectly as well as the desserts. This is a treasure for which we plan to return again and again. We only wish that we had returned a second time in the same trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty pasta”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by the restaurant to have a quick meal...the waiter was freindly and helpful.. We ordered pasta and appetizers they were very good....the setting is cozy, and the area is very nice for a walk... And afterwards we spent time at piazza navoni.. I advise it for lunch

Helpful?
Thank Aya S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ballerup, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem among gems!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just spent ten days in Rome, from 29 august to 8 september 2013 and I had my dinner at this restaurant three times. The last dinner was also my last night in Rome. I found it in 2006 and it is still my favourite restaurant in Rome. The atmosphere is very nice and the service friendly, the kind of atmosphere I really love and enjoy. Both the starters, the pasta dishes and the desserts I chose were absolutely delicious. But remember to book a table. Otherwise it can be difficult to get a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sir_kaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Pegno also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Pegno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing