We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Franco Fantastico”

Angelino ai Fori dal 1947
Reserve with
Angelino ai Fori dal 1947 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,412 of 12,271 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $8 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Monti
Description: Angelino "ai Fori", storico ristorante al Centro di Roma, vi accoglie dal 1947 nelle sue sale interne o nel suo giardino esterno su Via dei Fori Imperiali.
geelong australian
2 reviews
“Franco Fantastico”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had lunch and met friends for drinks outside under the dappled shade of a grape vine in the surreal environment leading up to the Colosseum. Franco took greatest care and respect for us. Prompt professional service, great English speaker, funny and full of advice. Simply a stand out. Rome should have more like him, or any restaurant in Australia for that matter!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    613
    277
    112
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and Pastaand Salame”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Came upon this place quite by accident five years ago. Had the best salame from Parma I ever had. Ordered some to take home. Returned there this June and had a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincentTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An oasis near the forum!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Happened upon Angelino's while walking around the forum waiting for our room to be ready. The outdoor cafe covered with tree branches was a welcome oasis from the hot and sunny weather. My husband ordered a Napolitana Pizza and I the Penne alla Aribiatta. The pizza took longer but was much better. Order the pizza. The Penne was non-descript. The servers were friendly and prompt. The facilities clean. A nice place for a casual lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5starbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent food in a good location ”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm always a bit apprehensive about going to places near tourist attractions. With wilting children and pensioners we had to make a quick decision. Of the 3 or 4 restaurants in the area, this was the busiest and smartest looking.
Valter the waiter was pleasant and entertaining. The food was reasonable - we only had pizza & chips, but it was tasty and fresh. Service was good and although it was a little on the expensive side, given the location, we were all very happy with the choice.

Helpful?
Thank Imaramsfan3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, but ......”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went twice during our stay in Rome as my boys liked the food. The first time we went we got charged for an extra drink, which I would normally complain about but decided just not to leave a tip. The second time, the food again was lovely but didn't rate the service.

Four of our five meals came together while the fifth was several minutes later. We were not offered Parmesan cheese for our pasta dishes and even got given the bill before we had finished. Thought that was somewhat rude. Waiter called Valter was friendly and certainly made my boys smile, as his one liner is "Oh yes".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FruityTutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angelino ai Fori dal 1947? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing