We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant tours!”
Review of Rome Walks

Rome Walks
Ranked #102 of 796 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rome Walks Limited is an English language company devoted to helping the busy traveler make the most out of their visit to the Eternal City. With more than 4.5 million residents, Rome can seem quite intimidating and chaotic. With our expert knowledge and advice we can help visitors escape this chaos and confusion with our carefully designed group and private tours. With a maximum of 10 clients per walk, Rome Walks enables you to experience what the Romans call "la bella città"!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant tours!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Difficult to praise this company highly enough.
From the ease of online booking, with googlemaps street-view links for the meeting points, to the tours themselves, it was faultless.
We did two tours - The Forum & Collosseum, with Russell Crowe - sorry, Simone (blame Francesca!) & then The Vatican with Francesca herself.
Both tours were superb, and it was well worth the expense to have a tour of just the six of us, as it made it much easier to move around both sites, and to get an extemely personal experience.
Simone & Francesca are both clearly experts in their fields, and both had a fantastic ability to bring their subjects alive.
We have three boys (11-18), and the guides made things interesting, informative & entertaining for them all.
Two fantastic days, which were the highlights of a great trip to Rome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeWalks, Owner at Rome Walks, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Lawrie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to send your feedback in regards to your Walks with Rome Walks.

We have passed your compliments to Simone (aka RC) and Francesca and we are truly grateful. This feedback is crucial to us because we are committed to identifying and using only the best guides on our walks. We look forward to seeing you in Naples and the Amalfi coast - on your next adventure.

with kind regards
Rome Walks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    21
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative tour”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We easily booked a very last minute walking tour with Rome Walks online (on the recommendation by our 2014 Rome Rick Steves guidebook) of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. Although the tours are a little pricey, we received a discount by booking online. We were met promptly by Paul, an American who has spent 15 years in Rome, and who is a PhD candidate and professor, and expert in Roman history. We were the only members of our group so we ended up enjoying a private tour! Paul was extremely knowledgeable and imparted a great deal of historical context within the tour such that you really understood what you were looking as you walked around Palatine Hill and the Forum. We did this tour early on during our one week stay in Rome, and it was helpful during visits to other sites, as we had a better understanding of the timeline and events of Rome. Extremely well done, at the right level of detail. We felt we really got what we paid for and it was well worth the price! Thanks again to Paul and Rome Walks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapeChiBeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeWalks, Owner at Rome Walks, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear EscapeChiBeria,

Just a note from Paul and all the rest of us at Rome Walks to say, Thank you for your review. Our aim is always to be the highlight of someone’s trip so you’ve made our day!

Yours sincerely

AF Gray,
Managing Director
Rome Walks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A morning well spent.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Myself, my husband and our sons 16 and 20 took the Forum and Colosseum tour. Paul, our guide, was a Historian who explained the intricate details of ruins on the Palatine and the use and political function of the Colosseum (to keep the Roman masses happy and secure their votes). As well as explaining what the ruins were, he gave us a historical, archaeological and anthropological perspective. He kept us all enthralled, with historic detail, from my 16 year old with no knowledge of Roman History to my other son who has studied Ancient History and Italian. His vast knowledge of Roman antiquity could have filled a university lecture hall. Somehow he managed to easily explain all this to an untrained ear. If you want to go to Rome and know what its all about, then I couldn't recommend this highly enough.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Brilliant tour around Colosseum and Forum, Alex our tour guide was very funny, kind and welcoming, full of relevant and interesting information. Group was very small, just my husband and I and one other couple. Well worth the few bob!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Eternal List of ROME ~”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If we had to list the treasures of the entire city, it would take another 2,800 years. From the Colosseum to the Trevi Fountain. From the narrow streets of Trastevere to the narrow streets of Garbatella. From the Art Deco of the Coppede' neighborhood to the Modern, white marble architecture of the EUR district. Its Villas, parks, fountains, squares, palaces, alleys, boulevards and ancient ruins make Rome an open air museum. With over 400 churches in its historic center alone (St. Peter's being the main one) and 70 km of catacombs running underground, Rome was built in layers. Aqueducts will be found on the roofs of ancient roman houses that were remodeled during Renaissance and re-adjusted during the Baroque time. Ancient tombs will be found a step away from the Aurelian Walls (19km of ancient walls that still surround the historic center) where you can visit the well preserved towers that the Romans used in order to keep the city safe from attacks from enemies.
Its domes and towers are visible from all 7 Hills (the Gianicolo, Pincio and Monte Mario offer incredible views). As there are infinite possibilities of all architectural styles (there are several Gothi churches like Santa Maria Sopra Minerva, Sacro Cuore del Suffragio and a dozen more) there could not miss a large offer of Contemporary Style buildings and museums: MAXXI, MACRO I and MACRO II, TIBURTINA and TERMINI Stations, ARA PACIS MUSEUM, Chiesa di Dio Padre Misericordioso, CENTRO CONGRESSI ITALIA, AUDITORIUM of MUSIC of Renzo Piano to mention a few.

The MUST SEE list:

St. Peter Basilica
Vatican Museums
Piazza Navona
Spanish Steps (and Trinita' Dei Monti on top with view of Rome)
Via Condotti
Via Del Corso
Piazza Del Popolo
Pincio
Villa Borghese
Colosseum
Forums
Campidoglio Square of Michelangelo
Marcello Theatre
Trastevere quarter
Coppede' quarter
EUR quarter
Garbatella quarter
Saint John Latern
Saint Paul Outside the Walls
Mouth of Truth
Villa Doria Pamphili
MAXXI Museum of XXI Century
Palazzo dei Conservatori Museum
Palazzo Nuovo Museum
Pinacoteca capitolina Museum
Tabularium Museum
Musei Capitolini
Centrale Montemartini Museum
Villa Torlonia Museum
Spada Gallery
Trajan's Market
Keats-Shelley Memorial House
Protestant Cemetery

We are still scratching the surface.
Via Appia Natica and its Park - a must see as well.
Piazza Venezia
Domus Aurea (built by Nero)
Palazzo Barberini
Scuderie del Quirinale
Colle Oppio

Truly: Rome has an eternal list of attractions ~

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rome Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing