We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salathai - CLOSED

Salathai
Price range: $34 - $134
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Trieste
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We go there once in a while and have never been disappointed. It offers some standard traditional thai dishes which are nice, incl. a green curry and satay. A good choice if you grave for some ethnic food in Rome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    48
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very good food, services and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Its not in the heart of Rome but its worth to eat in the restaurant. Great taste of food, very good services, very clean and excellent atmosphere as they also display some beautiful Thai art work

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba Iulia, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Closed!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

in a short visit to rome, we wanted to have a thai dinner but unfortunately when we got there...surprise! The restaurant was closed..in a monday evening . :(

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anamaria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Rome (so far)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I visited the Salathai late on a Friday evening.

We had no reservation and the restaurant was very busy but they quickly re-laid a table for us.

The decor and table settings are above average, showing a touch of individuality and attention to detail not often seen in the choice of cutlery and crockery. All added nicely to the Thai feel of the restaurant.

We ordered thai fish cakes and chicken stay for starters, both were well presented, fresh and tasty with the correct home made dips and sauces. Yum!

Next we ordered Pad Thai, with a green chicken and aubergine curry and a stir-friend beef with chilli and peppers and white rice. All the dishes were again very well presented, with fresh, quality ingredients. Couldn't fault any of them.

To finish we ordered a single portion of banana in coconut milk, a sweet, warm yet pleasant counter-point to the piquancy of the earlier courses.

All rounded off with a good Greco di Tufo and polite, attentive, yet unobtrusive service from the two serving staff.

Would heartily recommend and will definitely return soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Apicius98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Authentic Thai food with great service . Delicious do try it Reasonable priced for the quality of food

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DukeTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salathai also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing