We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hasekura

Hasekura
Ranked #2,714 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Monti
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

There were two restaurants in Rome where we were made to feel like customers instead of inconveniences. This was one of them.
We stumbled on this restaurant after leaving Temakinho Monti down the block (see my review for a longer explanation). We were greeted warmly and had a very nice meal. The prices are a bit high, even for Rome, but the food was good and a nice change from pasta and pizza.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    89
    38
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food ever ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I ate here on my trip to Rome in January and I wish I could go back for this food. The staff were lovely and gave us prosecco while they cleared us a table. We ordered a set course. The sushi was made fresh, the bowl of vegetables in miso were beautiful and the rice was cooked perfectly. Honestly one of the best meals of the trip and by far the best Japanese I have ever eaten

Helpful?
2 Thank Laurapoole27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This place was our plan B. Hence there wasn't any high expectations when we walked in for a table. Sashimi was fresh and portions were reasonable. Overall was quite happy with our little find in Rome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weng_Kin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was excellent, but a terrible value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The decor of this little Japanese restaurant was upscale and in great shape.

The food, though very good, was a terrible value compared to other nearby alternatives as well as against global standards (Tokyo, London, Seattle, San Francisco, and other coastal cities).

We ordered the deluxe sushi dinner (13 nigiri and 6 maki) and the "cooked vegetables." The vegetable stew was delicious but tiny -- literally one euro per slice of potato or zucchini. Similarly, the nigiri were lilliputian: not literally meant for Smurfs, but easily the size that one would expect to be served to small children or perhaps a small pet. For instance, the maki roll was the thickness of my forefinger -- and I'm of average build. This would all have been fine but for the exorbitant cost, and I speak here as someone who has had expensive sushi in many countries, including Japan. The combination of the restaurant's location (shabby, not upscale), the sushi, and the portion size make this restaurant a poor value.

That said, if you ignore price altogether, I did enjoy both the taste and variety of the sushi (which even included two choice fatty tuna pieces). If both money and value are of no importance, the taste and ambiance at Hasekura are excellent. Just double the order of whatever number of nigiri / maki you might have thought you needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fivecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We took our 3 kids here last night and we had friendly service and good food at a good price. Sushi was delicious. Definitely worth eating here to get a break from the typical Italian restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippacktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hasekura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing