We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice clean hotel.”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #611 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 16, 2013

this hotel is a nice 3* hotel in a great location near the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and lots of designer shops. room and bathroom clean and adequate space. breakfast ok if you like continental. Nowhere is too far to walk in Rome anyway. this hotel is not far from the Vatican just across the river. 4 stops from Termini metro station. take bus from airport to termini. we walked back from the hotel to termini when we left. the receptionist that booked us in was a very nive helpful lad who spoke great english and gave us a map of Rome. I would recommend this hotel if you dont want to pay a lot, but still want a nice place to lay your head.

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor and overlooked the front of the hotel and there was no noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank choccieluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Centrale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 414 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Accommodation in Rome is expensive but we found this place good value for money.
The room was clean but was quite small and it was difficult to get in and out of the bathroom.

The breakfast was OK however there was not a lot of choice.

The location is good as it is not far from the metro and within spitting distance of the main shopping street. The Colosseum and Forum are about 30-40 minutes walk away (best getting the metro).
Beware of the street hawkers located at Piazza Del Popolo. Most (in fact all we encountered) are of Asian decent will con you out of your euros if you let them. This does not reflect on the hotel of course.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed on the 5th floor. The lift needed some tips to go down.
The lift doesn't go every floors, only 1-3 floor.
The location is good but the room was a bit small.
Accomodation in Rome is expensive and we have to accept it and think it's OK.

Room Tip: To ask if the lift goes your room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissa-sasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at this hotel during our 5 day stay in Rome. The hotel is right off of Via Corso which has a lot of shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is helpful and knowledgable about the area so they are a great resource to ask for directions and assistance. The room was clean and spacious. It had a window that opened up to the street which gives you that true italian feel. Our room had a mini fridge. The hotel is in a great location and located within walking distance to Trevi Fountain, The Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo. Continental breakfast is included and the staff will make you hot espresso based drinks. It was good value.

If you have the chance go to Del Corso Taverna - amazing food and inexpensive!! Hands down the best meal I had in all of Europe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sab_Nav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is situated in a narrow lane between Via Del Corso and Via Del Babuino and is very 'Centrale' for the Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain & Piaza Novona. Not far from the river and the Vatican. The only really big attraction that involves a longish walk is the Colosseum but it is a very interesting longish walk.
The hotel is far from basic but not what you would term as luxurious either. The staff guys that cover the desk were very helpful, polite & friendly, especially Giovanni. Breakfast was fine unless you expect cooked food. It's not known as a Continental breakfast for nothing! Two types of cereal and loads of different pastries, cold meat, some fresh fruit and plenty of hot & cold drinks. Oh and lots of cake. The lift is small (300kg limit) and will take you to the 3rd floor of 4. Our room (No50) was fine with a comfortable bed, a great rooftop view over Rome and a big enough bathroom. Towels changed everyday and the room cleaned too. There is a fridge in the room too if needed.
We stayed for 4 nights at about 80 euro a night.
All things considered we thought this hotel was great value and we would have no hesitation on booking it again for a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 50 & 52 share a nice little 'private' roof terrace. If two couples (or a family...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bargain-HunterSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is perhaps ideal for short people. My first night (before leaving for 2 weeks and returning for an additional 6 nights) in Suite 8, the toilet was so close to the wall, I could not sit!! I am not tall or a very large person. I spoke to the desk man in the morning and was told that a suite on the 3rd floor would address this problem. As I waited for my taxi, he entered this information -confirming my name and return date on the computer. Upon my return, at first was a loss to find my comment/request. I described the desk man - which led to finding the information. We were given a room on the 2nd floor - again, very small. Despite a 2 week advance request, a larger room was not available. I will never stay at this place again or ever recommend it to anyone. Had a friend stay on the via Margutta and in the future, I will as well. If you are staying for any longer than 1 or 2 nights, there is no variety in the breakfast - on the 6th morning, I couldn't face it again - the coffee was always good and available upon request from
the lady taking care of the dining room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centraledir, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Gerry , I'm very sorry for the receptionist that not assign to you a largest room that we have.
I'm very sorry that you think to not come back to my hotel, and I respect your decision.
I could only try to explain you that I'm always available for my guest and in the future I ask to my guest , for your particolar needed, to speak directly with me.
I'm very sorry to have lost you, believe me ! The Manager Francesca Toto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location near the Piazza del Popolo is absolutely great. We did all our sightseeing on foot - a nice walking distance to both the Vatican and the Colosseum/Forum area.
We had breakfast included, they have juice, some cereals, standard Italian white bread rolls, salami, prosciutto and cheese and a wide selection of sweet pastries which is part of every Italian breakfast. Just make sure to note that you can order your espresso or cappuccino from the waitress. Much better than what u get out of the self service machine.
The hotel is in a nice old building, very well maintained and clean. Way above what you can find in Italy a lot of times.
Really the only downside are the small rooms with the almost too tiny bathrooms. That is even for local standards. But since you probably don't come to Rome to spend much more time than what you need for sleeping in your room we didn't find that to be a problem. Just think twice about it if you are much above 1,90 m (6 ft 2 in) in height ;)

Overall we would recommend this place anytime.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank formosae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#339 of 1,267 in Rome
718 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
470 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#332 of 1,267 in Rome
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#262 of 1,267 in Rome
986 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#296 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Vivaldi Luxury Rooms
Vivaldi Luxury Rooms
#471 of 1,267 in Rome
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Via Laurina 34 | Centro Storico, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #611 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is situated in a pedestrian area near Spanish Steps and Popolo Squares, which is extremely quiet and just few meters far from the big Villa Borghese parking. What makes the hotel unique among the others in the capital city is the building fascination; it is in fact a beautiful 1700 palace. Moreover, the hotel is one of the few that, being located in the centre of Rome, can offer advantage our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing