We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but loved every minute!”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #555 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The rooms are pretty small, warning to you but the hotel is fantastic, beaultiful old building, excellent service and in a good location in the nicer part of town. Included breakfast was also pretty great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank js2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 429 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is very well located, clean and affordable. But the rooms are tiny... Went with a friend for the first couple of nights, we could barely move the two of us in the same room. I had to almost slide myself into the shower, between the bathroom wall and the sink. As for the shower itself, it was so tight that any move could result in the faucet going from cold to hot in a second, which was very annoying and I with there was a small soap holder in the shower. I would have appreciated a shower that could allow myself to move normally! The staff was OK, but not particularly friendly. The breakfast was good but repetitive (always same ham (prosciutto though very tasty), cheese and salami day after day). Thanks for the staff who prepared my cappuccino! I found the small pizza place just across the street real nice, the guys there very friendly. And for a great, inexpensive coffee, the little shop just besides hotel was super!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This place is steps from The Spanish Steps, the Piazzo del Popolo, and much more. The terrace rooms are amazing but be prepared to walk as the elevator goes only to 3 the rooms are on 4. The other little issue is occasionally the elevator does not come at al and when it does it's barely fits two people and luggage. The staff has been adequate and that's it. No good recommendations or even directions, they didn't even have maps until the third day. The maid is wonderful but if you plan on returning for a siesta around 2 pm. Then be sure to tell the front desk. Several times our hadn't been made up when we returned in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Its a super great location hotel, close to everything, 3 min to the spanish steps, 15 min to the vatican, 12 min to the colosseum, 8 min to fontana di trevi,10 min to pizza navona, 5 min to villa borgeze 10 min to the panthion! Its in the middle of the 2 main shopping streets! The room is wide the breakfast is good.

Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Central in Rome is a perfect place to stay to access downtown Rome. It is 3 blocks from a sub-way station and the Hotel is located on a side street between two busy corridors for tourist which means the hotel is quiet, yet close by to restaurants and activities. It also is the only European Hotel I have been to that has a thermostat in the room and you can set it to your own temperature preference. The room was a decent size for Europe and the bathroom average size, but functional. We did a web deal for booking in advance which made the stay a little cheaper. The bed was comfortable for both os us and I have a bad back, but had no problems with the bed, it was comfy. The staff was very helpful and I would stay again.

It was hot in Rome (even in September) and the AC was great to be able to set it to as cool as we like it versus most hotels that have the entire building set to one temperature for everyone. WiFi works well and like other reviews we did not eat breakfast and went to local cafes to get a cheaper breakfast. We took the train from the airport directly into the city and transferred to the subway to get to the hotel. The subway stops by the piazza and if you walk right through the piazza, it is only an additional 3 blocks to the hotel. We left Rome early in the morning for airport and we did use a taxi. It costs $48 Euros to get to the airport. Since the hotel is in the walled section of the city, there is a flat fee for all Taxis to the airport. The train cost us $28 Euros for two and an additional $6 Euros for two to the hotel via the subway system. If you are a family of 4 the taxi ride can be cheaper than public transport. The subway works great for getting to the ruins, the Vatican etc. We usually took the subway one way to our furthest destination and worked our way back from there to catch all the sites. There are plenty of café’s to rest and eat along the way. We found the further away from the piazza’s the food seemed to be better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_civic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Close to pretty much everything, it was the best choice for our money. We stayed in a small room but it was very quiet and clean. The service was pretty good considering I speak pretty much no Italian. Would stay again for the same deal.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room and biggest bathroom if you aren't a fan of italys small style hotel ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthickeysudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Centrale for 6 days and the location was perfect for sightseeing and close proximity to major Roma attractions. The street had pavers from where the pilgrims walked! We had asked for a balcony room when booking but were only able to have a room at the front overlooking the street. It was quiet each night. The room was large, modern and cleaned daily. The breakfast room was great and friendly. Staff were so welcoming and always providing extra information with tourist attractions. Would love to stay here again! Thanks Hotel Centrale! This hotel is definately value for $.

Room Tip: You are able to access all rooms via steps or a lift. We were on the second floor and were very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#315 of 1,270 in Rome
731 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#160 of 1,270 in Rome
490 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#319 of 1,270 in Rome
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#154 of 1,270 in Rome
1,615 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#347 of 1,270 in Rome
772 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Via Laurina 34 | Centro Storico, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $78 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is situated in a pedestrian area near Spanish Steps and Popolo Squares, which is extremely quiet and just few meters far from the big Villa Borghese parking. What makes the hotel unique among the others in the capital city is the building fascination; it is in fact a beautiful 1700 palace. Moreover, the hotel is one of the few that, being located in the centre of Rome, can offer advantage our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing