We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, fun, great food. love Paolo”

Hostaria Antica Roma
Ranked #2,891 of 12,458 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $23 - $83
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of the most unusual place to eat in the world...a mausoleum of 2000 years ago...
Bann, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome, fun, great food. love Paolo”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

So nice.... it was a highlight of our Rome trip. Paolo, the owner and server was entertaining and engaging with each different table and their needs. He was sweet with our children providing crayons and paper on the spot. He kept the food coming with complementary tastings and suggestions. If we had a restaurant like this at home we would be there all the time! It felt like home, but better!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annabananahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    122
    42
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - interesting setting”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This wonderful family restaurant is in the catacombs. We had traditional Roman dishes and were treated royally by the owners who greeted us with sparkling wine and made space for my wheel chair bound mother. I would definitely go again in order to try more of their delicious menu items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
main st
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better then my Italian Grandmother”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stumbled on this exciting out of the way restaurant 5 years ago when we were visiting Italy. We loved this place and the food, that when we came back with our youngest daughter we had to return. We told our youngest how great the restaurant was that ofcourse Paolo the owner had a high bar to jump. When we arrived Paolo remember us. It was like family that we hadn't seen in a while. We handed the menu back to Paolo and told him just bring food. The food was beyound great. We ate and drank till we couldn't put anymore in. After I think 3 hours we called it a night and waddled to the taxi. This place is out of the way but you will not go wrong. The food is real, not for tourist. My mother was from Italy and she was a great cook. Paolo brought it home for me. Thank you Paolo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the trip outside of the centre of Rome”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a party of 5 for dinner at Hostaria Antica Roma tonight. The owner treated us very well! He was informative and easy going! He suggested that we try the sampling of 3 pasta dishes and 2 main courses. The lasagna was to die for!!! In fact, all the food was delicious including the desserts and wine. The restaurant is located in the catacombs, but it is so worth the trip. In fact, several celebrities and politicians have dined there as well. The cost is very reasonable and learning about its history is amazing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice location, reasonable food”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Really surprised by most of the reviews here, I really think this place is pretty average.

The location is great, but this is Rome, so almost every location is great!

When I go to a restaurant, the main thing I am interested in, is the food and wine. While there was nothing wrong with the food, it was the same sort of thing you could eat in most roman restaurants.

The wine list is very good, but again nothing extraordinary.

I did feel it was a bit of a tourist trip stop off, the waiter giving the tiramisu 'viagra' talk that I have heard so many times before. If you haven't heard it and are not too put off by chatty waiting staff then this is somewhere you will enjoy. If you are into your food, go somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank kevd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria Antica Roma also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing