We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, pleasant room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Locanda dell'Angelo
Ranked #1,621 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just a few blocks from Termini and 2 blocks from another metro stop, the location is great. And the place has some old-world class, is clean and the room and bathroom were fairly spacious. Nice staff, although we only met Angelo, the owner, on arrival; the other days and evenings (4) were staffed by a nice fellow who lives at the hotel and could respond to our needs (mostly for getting in and out of the building) but spoke very little, if any, English.

Breakfast was limited to a paper ticket that we took to a small "bar" around the corner - about a block away - which entitled us to one cup of coffee and a croissant each. We could purchase seconds and juice. It was a sort of neighborhood hub though as an aeronautical engineering school is across the street, so it was fun to be in the midst of that.

Although there is wifi, the signal wasn't strong enough to reach our room, so we could only receive it on the iPad and iPod Touch by going out to the lobby.....a nuisance.

Others have mentioned street noise, but we didn't notice it. There is an air conditioner with a hand held controller, so windows did not need to be open at night.

However, given the above considerations, I recommend this place as the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed there last week for 5 nights;It was a little bit difficult to locate the place at first, since it's off Termini station (about 5 blocks or so) .The rooms are nice,big,and clean.The bathroom is also good.The area is noisy,but the windows have a sort of a cover which makes the whole thing tolerable,although not sound proof. Breakfast is very basic,just to "get your engine start " for an hour or so,and then you'll need a good breakfast...The owner Angelo was very professional,and atentive to our questions and/or request,but also quite reserved .
In any event,this b&b gave us the best value, and we definetely recomend it.

P.S:
Probably nobody will tell you this,but the best are to eat in Rome is Trastevere,which is on south west Rome,on the west bank of the Tiber.The place is filled with restaurants,cafes,bars etc,and they give you a much better value than the restaurants in the classic touristic areas of Rome.This is the place where we had our first good italian food,after 3 days of being ripped off with average food (at best) in the main touristic areas.
Enjoy your stay.
Lisa and Ronnie.
Israel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Found this B&B on RomeBy.com and was a bit apprehensive about booking it for three nights. Arrived and was pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice, with an en-suite bath, and your breakfast is brought to your room every day. Staff does not speak a ton of English, but communication was not a problem. One convenient aspect is that it is only two blocks from the Castro Pretoria metro station, which if you plan on riding the metro, you get on BEFORE Termini, so it's usually less crowded as you start your day's journey. There are some fabulous pizzerias in the neighborhood, and since it is a bit off the normal 'tourist' path, there were quite a few locals eating there, too. Only about four blocks from the Termini. The worst part is the street noise. The rooms have excellent steel encased double-paned glass windows which can be opened/closed, and they reduce the street noise considerably, but unless you are a very heavy sleeper, the noise will be a problem for you. It dies down after midnight, but starts up again about 5:00 am. Breakfast was good, delivered to your room, and consists of package toast, fresh pastry, yogurt, orange juice and your choice of cappuccino, coffee or tea. No television or internet access. Good choice for budget accommodation, with no frills.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ECUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My mother and I went for a weekend in Rome and stayed in this cute BnB!
For 50 Euro we had a double room with an insuite washroom. The room was very spacious with a big wardrobe and a breakfast area. It was very clean. The owner was very nice and helped us with directions. We were a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, which brought us directly to the airport for 11 Euro!

I would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone wanting to visit Rome!

The only thing that we didn't like were the directions on how to get to the BnB...we got them on their website, and we tried to follow them, but got very confused and took us 30 minutes to find the place the first time.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Annabacchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nastya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#259 of 1,271 in Rome
1,322 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#462 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda dell'Angelo

Address: Viale Castro Pretorio 25, 00100 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,621 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Locanda dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing