We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Nice Room

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rome Nice Room
Ranked #2,989 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Northern California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I booked a private room with bathroom and balcony at Rome Nice Room. Our private bathroom was down the hall, not in or near our room. We were never told this when we booked the room. The bathroom was also being used by the other rooms (there are two shared bathrooms), so when we arrived and said we had a private bathroom (showed the email), we were given the key to the shared bathroom to use as our private bathroom. The poor folks in the other rooms now had to share one bathroom. The bathroom was also not cleaned prior to us using it privately, it had been used by others prior to our arrival. The bathroom shower was a small bathtub with a sprayer that you hold, and there was no shower curtain. Our room looked like it used to be a living room. The door to enter was french doors with fabric over them so no one could see in. The bed was old, reminded me of a pull out sofa quality. There was only a bedspread for a blanket, it was old and had a cigarette burn on it. The lighting was horrible, there was a chandler in the room, and all the bulbs but two were burned out. The lights by the bed did not work. The balcony was a huge disappointment. There was an old recliner on the balcony, and an old wooden chair. The planter box of flowers was filled with cigarette buds (even though the room was to be a non-smoking room!). The first morning we had no hot water, they did fix the issue by the second day. The balcony and room reminded me of a college dorm room/apartment. We were to have breakfast each morning, but the first morning there was no breakfast at all. A nice couple told us where the market was so we could go buy some food. The second morning there was breakfast, just one roll and coffee/tea or juice. That was all. We were really disappointed. We paid 70 euros a night, definitely not worth it. This B&B (really hostel) is quite a walk from the train station. My husband and I are in our 40-50's, and we struggled a bit. It was about a 15 minute walk, mostly all up hill. Pulling suitcases it was a bit challenging. There is also a set of stairs to go up. We were very disappointed in Rome Nice Room and will not stay there again. Please send me a message if you have any additional questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pirokp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was nice to make your own tea or coffee during the day.
Good beds.
Close to tram and metro.
elevator was very small but worked very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hendrika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Despite having booked the room months in advance and having all the documentation, when we arrived they said they didn't have a record of our reservation. The girl who was working called the owner who claimed that the reservation was cancelled on the same day as the booking because my card was not working and that I was sent an email notification - both blatant lies. I've read other reviews on this site where hotels use the same lie when they mess up a reservation. I used the same credit card for the whole trip without issue - my card was most certainly working. I can also clearly see that I never received the claimed cancellation e-mail, in fact, I actually received an email confirming my reservation from the website I booked through just 4 days prior to our reservation. Extremely unprofessional.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This location was very convenient for us as we were visiting our daughter, who was attending the American University of Rome. This also put us within walking distance of Trastavere and Villa Doria Pamphili park. We were only a 10-minute walk from the Tram and bus stops, which took us to all of the Rome attractions we wanted to see. RNR is in a quiet building in a residential neighborhood.

The room was comfortable and clean, and the continental breakfast, conveniently served in our room, with delicious Italian coffee, was a welcome treat every morning. The B&B's own airport shuttle service worked out well for us too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Martha and her family were very helpful. She goes out of her way to make you feel at home after a long trip. Very clean and neat. Breakfast was superb!. Best place to stay!. Also, we were looking into staying at the other central location and Martha went out of her way to find us a room for the night. Thank you Rome Nice Room!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyuuxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were only here one night. The family that runs the B&B was very nice and helpful. It is a little out of the way, but not too far by Tram #8 to get to the historic part. It is very near to Trastevere, and if I'm ever back in Rome I will spend more time there because it is lovely and the food is amazing and MUCH less expensive than the historic 'touristy' part of Rome. The room was nice and large, but the air-conditioning broke early in the morning the night we were there, dripped water all over the floor and stopped working. Nobody's fault, but it would have been very inconvenient if we were staying longer (Rome is HOT in the summer!). The breakfast was great. The room with 'private bath' means you get your own bathroom, but it's not en suite (it's across the hall). Not a big deal, just something to consider. This is a very nice room for the price, and for the budget traveler, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were on a budget and had a hard time finding a reasonably priced hotel, so we took a chance with Rome Nice Room. It is very reasonably priced for Rome, but the tradeoff is, it is a bit far from the sightseeing activities. The #8 tram is about a 10 minute walk, and it takes about 10-15 to get into the city. But the B&B is lovely - we had breakfast delivered to our room every morning, the room was cleaned every day, and there is AC and WiFi. Our host was the nicest person we met in our whole Italy trip. When we arrived, she talked with us for 20 minutes about Rome sightseeing advice. I would definitely recommend Rome Nice Room to people visiting Rome on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkladybug85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,571 of 3,734 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,734 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#287 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Nice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Nice Room

Property: Rome Nice Room
Address: Via Daniello Bartoli 7, 00152 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,989 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rome Nice Room Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing