We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long walk, but you'll need to walk it off”
Review of Nuovo Mondo

Nuovo Mondo
Reserve with
Nuovo Mondo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,037 of 12,262 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $12 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Testaccio
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Long walk, but you'll need to walk it off”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We found Nuovo Mondo on a foodie's blog. You've heard of the European Paradox? Thin people, high-calorie food? Nothing paradoxical at NM (ironic, given its name)--you'll be surrounded by loud tables packed with hearty eaters. I'd recommend skipping the starters; the grease-to-food ratio is too high, and everything from the rice balls to the zucchini blossoms tasted the same. As for the pizzas, we had a zucchini margherita and a tuna onion, and decided it worked fine to scrape off the topping and eat the crust. I truly am fond of tuna-noodle casserole, but was not expecting to find some floating in the middle of an overly cheesy thin-crust pizza. Italian fluency will get you out of this place a little more quickly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NolaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    217
    100
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fat! Fat! Fat!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The starters, for which the place is well known, are the most oily I have ever tasted. The breading was completely separated by the internal code fish, and that made the breaded fried code awful. The pizza was thin and row. The light was cold neon and that makes you feel like you are In a soup kitchen.
Nothing else to say. Oh, yes: the waiter was nice and made his best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LaDaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza rediscovered”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We never imagined pizza could be so thin! We got fat on this wonderful thin Roma-style pizza. And happily so.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mayakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, neighborhood pizzeria”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were tired after a day of long walks between sites so decided to walk up the street for pizza. Ordered the tuna and onion pizza that friends recommend and were not disappointed. It was excellent and I believe is a speciality of the house. There was some confusion as to the number of cortoni and antipasto we ordered - I'd order one cortoni, my husband ordered one antipasto, but we got two of each. Still the price was reasonable and we took away what we didn't eat and had it for lunch today. Service was quick and friendly. It appears to be a good place to take kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok, but not the best.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

On our last night in Rome, we couldn't be bother to go to a restaurant so we decided to take a pizza from San Remo, except they were closed. So, we opted for a take away pizza from Nuevo Mondo instead, since I read on an American blog that it was as goog as San Remo's. Well. it wasn't but it was still a decent pizza, though quite salty. The service was good and we didn't have to wait long for our pizza. And it was fairly cheap.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blibloubla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuovo Mondo also viewed

 

Been to Nuovo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing