We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pear and ricotta ravioli”
Review of La Buca di Ripetta

La Buca di Ripetta
Ranked #441 of 12,271 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pear and ricotta ravioli”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I made my friends hike here from the Borghese gallery because I just had to taste the pear and ricotta ravioli again, but everyone agreed it was one of the best meals we ate in Italy during our two week stay. The wait staff is attentive without being intrusive, the food is traditional, but done really well, with some flair and individuality. Lots of Italians eating here, too, which I always take as a good recommendation. Good wine, delicious food, great ambiance, just what you are looking for for a special meal out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorryVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    481
    126
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
189 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Rome Favorite”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have not been to Rome for 7 years - and I couldn't wait to return to La Buca di Rapetta to have the baked suckling pig. And it was just as delicious as I remembered.
Pasta was excellent, as was the lamb.
Moreover, it has such a warm, authentic ambiance. The other patrons were Italians - always a good sign. (We were the only ones speaking English at the 5 or 6 tables near us.)
The only thing that is a bit odd - and this is very minor, is the sound system playing 80s american pop music. Seems a bit incongruous to this otherwise perfect Roman restaurant that is also reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best tiramisu ever”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice little place near to our hotel. Service was very friendly and attentive. Staff recommended the pork which was very well cooked. Tiramisu here is amazing, the best we have had anywhere. We shared the tiramisu but wished we took one each.

Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A brilliant restaurant. The food here was wonderful, a true taste of Italy. We went twice and the restaurant was busy both times. A lovely atmosphere. Staff were friendly and attentive and service good. The somalier knew his business and was helpful in recommending wines to go with dishes if asked. He even checked the wine for corkage before offering you the wine to taste. Price for the type and quality of food very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bug62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice cozy setting with good food to match”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our hotel suggested dining at this restaurant, which is close to the Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps. Upon arrival, we were delighted to find a cozy, well-filled restaurant with many international and Italian diners. The food was very good including a great grilled artichoke dish for a starter with wonderful fresh pasta to follow. We actually saved room for dessert and it was delicious too. Wait staff were especially helpful and the service added to the evening of good food and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buca di Ripetta also viewed

 

Been to La Buca di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing