We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rome
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Crown Tours
from $30.82
More Info
from $37.64
More Info
from $38.63
More Info
from $130.99
More Info
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveler rating
796
63
34
19
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
796
63
34
19
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palatine hill roman forum great tour palestine hill his knowledge fun facts colosseum tour visiting rome skip the line small group christian guide information company stories ruins euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After finding it hard to pick a tour online, we headed to the colosseum to see what guides/tour operators were there. I was apprehensive when the man approached us with just a tag around his neck nothing with the tour operator logo on. Once he told us prices and explained abit more, we agreed on this tour. He took us up some steps to guides wearing purple shirts easy to spot. Waited 20 minutes till the start time whilst being pestered by men selling bracelets and selfie sticks.
Once the tour started we were inside within 10 minutes, our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Taking us from the arena floor to the first floor. After an hour or so we were allowed 15 minutes to explore the 2nd floor alone.
We headed to the exit to meet our next tour guide for the Palatine hill and Roman Forum. By this point I have to admit I was hungry as it was just after 2 o’clock. About and hour later it was over and able to explore the rest on our own and go to the very top of the hill seeing the remains from the top which was breathtaking!

Over all the tour was good, just long. Our mistake for not taking food with us (as we were worried about the rule on backpacks).
Many thanks!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bruno and Mitch were very good tour guides. Very informative on the tour, funny and very helpful. This tour is very worth it. You learn a lot about history and well worth your money. Highly recommend

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jszetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our guide Lars was super nice and told us everything about the history of Rome, the colosseum and common misconceptions! Also very interesting anecdotes, which we‘ll probably won’t forget! Would recommend this tour to everyone, afterwards you are tired but also happy that you experienced all of it & understood a lot more of history now! Thank you very much - it was a pleasure!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank chl2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail38818556151, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us.
It was a pleasure having you on our tour and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Kamran
Crown Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This tour was highly informative and it was really cool to go into the underground areas. Our guide (Mircea I believe his name was?) was awesome, and really knows his history. Totally worth the time and money!

Thank 678bethanyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail38818556151, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience.
It was a pleasure having you on our tour and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Kamran
Crown Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of five took a skip-the-line tour of the colosseum, palatine hill and forum and it was an excellent experience.

Marcello was our guide at the Colosseum. He was friendly and knowledgeable although softly spoken and was a little hard to understand at times, especially via the headphones which suffered from some static.

No such problems with our second guide, Brian, from the UK, who took us for the palatine hill and forum parts. No need for headphones with him - he was clear, loud, extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Apparently he has studied classical history at university and his knowledge and ability to bring the scene to life - an to inject some humour - was really impressive.

I’d rate it 3 stars for the first part and 5 stars for the second, so 4 stars overall.

All in all we were very happy and thought the tour a valuable experience.

Thank LuckyLeeAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews