We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overrated!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ditirambo

Ditirambo
Reserve with
Ditirambo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #369 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
New York City
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Got to Ditirambo on a futbol game night so the place was dead when we walked in about 7pm. Host was very nice and said it was fine to come back later, that there would be plenty of seats. We came back about 8:30, restaurant was nearly full. We got a seat right by the front door on a chilly night, so it was cold. Waiter was fine and knowledgeable about the wine list, but the host had lost his kind character when we showed up. And frankly, being a Roman restaurant is no excuse.
Food - had a goat cheese(?) with balsamic dressing of some sort as an appetizer. In hindsight, it seems like a ad combo, kinda like milk and orange juice together.
Main courses were average for both of us.
Super disappointed as this was our last night in Rome and we found the place after googling best restaurants in Rome and finding a Guardian article written by a woman who had lived in Rome for several years.
So what can I say? The place was nearly packed when we sat down, the Guardian praised it, a tourbook did the same, but I thought it sucked.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Problems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    457
    123
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice italian food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice ambiance, food average, service a bit slow, but the restaurant was full. We had the house special of the day, which tasted ok, but was not very special. The Tirumisu was very good though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MartijnDenHaag70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overrated!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had dinner here in late October. Service was just adequate, and food was nothing special, good, but nothing out of the ordinary. Very expensive meal compared to other restaurants in the area. Went because the place gets good reviews, but I guess this isn't one of them. It wasn't terrible, it was good, but not as good as our expectations based on others reviews and the food preparation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AH MAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this restaurant using an app called GuidePal I downloaded for our visit. It was a little difficult to find, but definitely worth it. I had the pasta with shrimp, two large shrimps and a tasty sauce. It was good, but it was nothing compared to what my boyfriend had - the pappardelle pasta with a creamy meat sauce, wild rabbit if I remember. It was absolutely the best dish we had on our entire trip. My boyfriend says he dreams of it at night.

We would definitely go back to eat again, probably multiple times.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank alisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good taste of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We ate a prebooked four course menu. Everything was excellent, especially the first course which was four different apertizers of fish. The first course followed by two different pasta dishes, both vegetarian. Also very delicious with "al dente" home made pasta. When the third course came in we all were very satisfied and perhaps they served us too much food? Therefore we didn't enjoy the dessert as much as we should have? My recommendation is to order only three courses, that's good enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank URBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ditirambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing