We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“imaginative vegetarian menu in cool arty surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Margutta

Il Margutta
Reserve with
Il Margutta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #796 of 12,162 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $5 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“imaginative vegetarian menu in cool arty surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Il Margutta is in the historical centre on via Margutta, famous for its art galleries and outdoor art markets.
I've eaten there many times over the year and am always interested to see what the latest decor will be - the current temporary exhibition is "women in rock" and mainly features portraits of Amy Winehouse.
I've had the brunch buffet several times and it provides tasty, varied offerings (using biological and mostly local products) for good value all-inclusive prices, but I prefer the dinner menu, always seasonal, with more formal service, and the opportunity to try the classic four-course menu or the vegan six-course that show off the creativity of the chefs.
The artichoke cooked six ways is wonderful, and there's always something new and intriguing, such as the white chard with quail egg and back truffles I sampled this time.
They also have a good selection of reasonably priced wines.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    591
    232
    116
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food within a sweet quaint place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

It's a sweet restaurant playing some good Jazz music in the background with good food and welcoming staff. Different place than usual and will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Porcini Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

You know how veggie restaurants in the UK can be nice but a bit worthy and stodgy? Well this is a million miles away from that. This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel and I am so thrilled that it was as I'm not sure that we would have found it on our own. We shared a dish of Porcini cooked in 6 different ways which is one of the most delicious dishes either myself or my husband have ever tasted, followed by ravioli stuffed with gorgonzola and a spinach veloute. Pierino (I think that that was his name), the maitre d' was simply amazing and helped to balance the drinks selection with the dishes and advised on portions and choices perfectly. We felt like VIPs and had a truly memorable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding buffet restaurant - vegetarian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A pleasant vegetarian restaurant for families with babies, for business and couples. Not suited for large groups of friends.
I visited this restaurant with my family for a lunchtime buffet, I got a perfect service for at great value, its only a few euros more compared with low quality tourist spots, and close to a 5-star rome restaurant. You will enjoy it even with a limited Italian language knowledge.
There is a wide selection of foods such as pasta, salads, breads, vegetables and fruits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AGROMA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent & Fresh food. Make it a part of your Rome itinerary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited this restaurant in April 2013 for a Friday lunchtime buffet that works out at great value, its only a few euros more to upgrade for a courseof cake & coffee. The service was polite & friendly bearing in mind that I knew limited Italian. There is a wide selection of foods such as pasta, salads, breads, lasagne etc all freshly prepared. It was like being in veggie heaven. It is one the best meals I have ever had. Shame that I do not live in Roma, as I would visit more often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BohemianDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Margutta also viewed

 

Been to Il Margutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing