We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Go-To”
Review of La Montecarlo

La Montecarlo
Ranked #1,193 of 12,458 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Go-To”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live in Rome and this is always my go-to when I am in the centre. They offer great, cheap thin-crust pizzas and cheap but good house wine. I always order the Capricciossa - with the cracked egg baked in the middle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    998
    506
    243
    228
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast, good quality pizza in the heart of Rome”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am surprised that this pizzeria does not have better reviews. It is definitely not a place you will sit for hours – so if this is what you are looking for you are best of going somewhere else. However it is a typical Italian pizzeria, loud and energetic, with limited selection of good quality food, fast service and smiling personnel. That’s what makes it great! I really enjoyed the pizza (typical thin crusted pizza) and the Italian vibe and did not mind at all the “rushed” service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After traipsing around restaurants in Rome for days, they all started to blur into one, offering the same rubbish in different ways. And then we stumbled across this place.

Simple food that is simply delicious, is what you can expect. Fresh meat platters, wholesome crispy pizza and plentiful pasta. This place is a hit and so affordable too. If I could I'd eat here every day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent pizzas, good service & atmosphere, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The pizzas are excellent. The prices are reasonable. Service is good. The atmosphere is nice. But it's not close to anything. Overall, it's a good restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza, but to avoid in evening”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Montecarlo was recommended by our hotel owner as best pizza in Rome. And it was true. We tryed a lot and these ones are really different. Pizza is on a thin and crispy base, sometimes with slightly burned edges, which you simply keep away. All the fillings are fresh. Mozarella instead of Gauda makes it very light. I had not at all heavy stomach after pizza, like most time of my life.
Pasta was ok, especially if to consider that it is not their speciality. Home wine (red and white) - good.
As for the service, Rome does not have the fame of very sensitive waiters. They have to run a lot. And by the end of a day they are simply tired. For better experience, go there during lunch time. Evenings are overcrowded, and quality of service and food (too many orders) may drop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing