We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Palatium

Palatium
Ranked #3,109 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Chania Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very bad food uninterested service dirty toilets really amazed how it has so many likes. Plus we were shivering from cold.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Argyropet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    310
    114
    62
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drinks near Spanish steps”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice atmosphere, not for drinks anymore, more a food restaurant. a short walk from the spanish steps

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank marribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar & restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This enoteca is all about Lazio region - the wine, cheese honey and meals all represent the area. The staff are very friendly and helpful although a few did not have good english - a chance to practice your italian. The food was beautifully presented and the wines were excellent value by Rome standards. Good quality wines by the glass. The cheese board is well worth a try especially for the honey. The veal meatballs and the cod fish dish rated highly at our table. Close to many major attractions and ship it is perfectly placed. Great place for a glass of vino or a meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelleD20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great spot in busy area, very good meal and wine selection”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The enoteca promotes wines and products from the Lazio region of Italy, as such the wine list is great and offers many options to try that you would not find elsewhere. Wine prices, especially for Rome, are incredibly reasonable.

The food was lovely - we had a gnocchi ragu and the pasta with cacio e pepe (a traditional pecorino cheese and pepper pasta dish of this region), both were delicious. We probably should have had a snack/aperitivo and then just the pasta dishes as mains, and would do this next time - as we went for pasta as primi and then mains, and we could not finish the latter. They were nice but we enjoyed the pasta dishes more. I tried the tripe which will not be for everyone, but was well cooked, tender and tasty with tomato and some mint. My husband had a sausage dish with broccoli (it came with spinach though! Not sure if a translation error or just that they ran out), which he just thought had a bit too much meat and was rather large with just the 2 ingredients. No room for desert sadly as they looked great!

Staff were helpful and professional, some spoke more English than others which is completely reasonable, and it was easy to order and make ourselves understood. There is an English menu. We had a booking and would recommend this, as at least in the evening they were turning people away.

Our bill was just over 60 Euro for 2 pasta dishes, 2 mains, one mineral water, one bottle of wine - very good value for the quality, amount, and for that area of Rome.

We would definitely go back (and leave more room for desert!).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Spanishkathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“A little refinement in the tourist precinct”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The food and wine are the attractions here.

A menu that makes a decision problematic--a downside of travelling solo, you do not get to taste as much ~

Floor staff friendly and informative.
The so called maitre d' needs to learn how to smile and engage his guests, notably international ones.
Enjoyed my dinner, even if a little rushed but a solo diner 'wastes' a chair….

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palatium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing