We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As if you were family”

La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali
Ranked #347 of 12,458 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Monti
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As if you were family”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Amazing restaurant with amazing staff. They make you feel if you are part of their family and take care of you as such. Quality of food was exceptional and menu was excellent. Not at all a "tourist" restaurant which we try hard to avoid. This was the best place we ate at in 5 days in Rome. And the prices were amazingly reasonable! We will absolutely be coming back next time in Rome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,683
    694
    214
    81
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will not disappoint”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place comes with local recommendations and we decided to try it. Be sure you get a reservation!! You wont be seated without one and for good reason. The wine list is terrific and the food is so fresh and tasty you can not be disappointed. We found the service to be outstanding and made all the other lovely features of our meal even better. Great staff and that says a huge amount about an establishment. If local people recommend a place, as a visitor, its smart to listen and we are so glad we listened and were able to get a reservation as this was the best meal we had in Rome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallawallaeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Rome!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I gave this place a try on our recent 4 day trip to Rome and among stiff competition, it stood out as our favorite. We found it in my ever reliable Luxe Guide where it is described as, "kitschy-cutesy hero for delicious fish and handmade pastas". Inside it is casual yet romantic and charming and seemed to have a good mix of locals and tourists. Based on recommendations from other reviewers, I started with the artichoke which was light and tasty. As an entree I ordered the chef's special gnocchi which I was supremely happy with until I tasted my husband's paperdelle with sausage and was blown away! By the time the meatballs came, I had no room left, which was just as well for us as the pastas were definitely the main event. The prices were very fair and wine was tasty. Service was great and staff was very personable. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & knowledgeable staff. Good location - quality food & service.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary this week and were not disappointed. The staff were lovely, gave expert advice on the menu and were very attentive. Most importantly though, the food was amazing - would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank therattus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is steps away from the Roman Forum. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing