We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier location in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Ranked #159 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Premier location in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Spent 5 wonderful days in Rome, and loved every minute of being at Casa Montani.

This is a wonderful location for 1st time or returning visitors. Only 6 mins walk form Spanish Steps - along some of the cities most amazing shopping streets - this is a true oasis of calm in this frantic city.

The rooms (we had the suite No 5) are beautifully appointed - our suite overlooked Plaza Popolo. Bed was uber comfy and breakfast was ample and delivered on the chicest silver trolley each morning.

This is not a full service hotel - it does not claim to be - what it is a wonderful place to base yourself whilst in Rome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    46
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
215
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

dont try to find hotel yourself - get taxi from airport/termini , station beside hotel - hotel organised pick up from airport for very reasonable price -hard to find if not dropped off - no name on hotel but did recognise outside of building from previous travellers photos. Locked away behind big solid doors - up to 3rd level either by elevator or stairs - hidden behind security access door - lovely family owned boutique hotel - not overcrowded - I think about 6 rooms that included owners on site - complimentary fruit bowl - pastries, coffee, croissants included for breakfast in room. Lovely room - very elegant feel - walk to a lot of attractions - but when in rome the only way to see anything is walking - close to Piazza Pabalo arched entrance. Staff friendly, helpful, enjoyed stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chilli29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

My wife and I booked our stay directly thru their website after seeing all the high ratings on trip advisor. The owner Giuseppe was very attentive and sent a reputable limo service to pick us up at the airport. The driver was waiting for us as we came out and quickly drove us back to Casa Montani, helped us with our bags and was extremely courteous.Casa Montani felt as thou we were in our own home.It was clean , extremely safe and comfortable.Giuseppe, Yvonne and her niece made sure we were taken care of the entire stay.The location is excellent, next to the metro, Villa Borghese, Via del Corso, Piazza del Popolo, and nearby train service to Viterbo and other locations.Breakfast, although plentiful , was limited as it usually is all over Europe. However, it was served with style.Our recommendation to all our American travelers is: Don't hesistate to book this hotel. Loved room # 3

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

This was our favorite hotel of the three we stayed at on our Euro vacation (INCLUDING the lauded Al Ponte Antico in Venice!). It was absolutely perfect in every way - delicious breakfast, perfect location, reasonable pricing, just total luxury.

Breakfast was delivered to us daily, after filling out a personalized menu of breakfast items we would prefer. Pastries, cheeses, yogurts, and absolutely delicious cappuccinos and fresh squeezed juices. Delicious.

The bed was the most comfortable of any I have found in Europe - fluffy linens, and beautiful furnishings. Ample room in the hotel - you definitely get your money's worth here. The proprietor was a delights as were the girls working there - you were greeted with a smile every time. It is a very, very tiny hotel - very much a townhouse feel - but it is also extremely private. There's really just one long hallway of rooms, and that's it. I never heard any noise or commotion, and you would think you would, with all that close proximity.

My only critique (which isn't really a critique at all!) is that the hotel is hard to find. The taxi dropped us off at the address on P. Flaminio, and we circled the building twice before figuring out that the hotel is inside a non-marked heavy wooden door, next to the bakery and Burger King.

Best location ever - literally, you step into the metro station from the front entrance. Just wonderful.

I have recommended Casa Montani to a few friends already ... and I would stay here in a heartbeat again. What a wonderful experience - take it from me, I'm extremely hard to please when it comes to hotels.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HL950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed at Casa Montani for 4 nights at the beginning of a 2-week trip to Italy. We were impressed with the value of the price for the quality of the accommodations and the location. While this is a bit north of many popular sites in Rome, there is no trouble getting around (metro outside the front door or a 15-minute walk to any sight). We loved the decor, the extremely comfortable bed, and the beautiful bathroom. While small (as are most European hotels), our room at Casa Montani was beautifully decorated and had a nice window with a view of the neighboring area. We loved the breakfast, and appreciated the sound-proof windows when we needed our rest! Guiseppe and his wife are charming and helpful at every turn - we enjoyed our stay and have recommended it to friends already!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottsdaleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Spent 2 nights here at the end of a two week trip to Rome and Tuscany. Totally recommend the place. It appears as a 3 star (probably because it has no restaurant and some of the other features of a big hotel) but in our experience the star rating for most hotels in Italy is inflated by at least one star. Not in this case. It should be 5 stars. Initial impression of the building it's in is "big cold office" but once you reach Casa Montani on the 3rd floor it's like another world. Whole place has been very tastefully restored. We had a regular room with a super comfortable bed. Bathroom was on the small side but very modern. It's located on a busy square just outside Piazza del Popolo but the sound proofing is great and we had no problem with noise.
Service was excellent. Yvonne was so eager to please and the Montani family went out their way to recommend local restaurants and anything else we wanted to know.
Location may seem a bit north of the main tourist attractions but you are 10-15 minutes walk through the elite shopping area of Rome to the Spanish Steps. Lots of restaurants close by. You are right on the metro A Line - literally you walk outside and the building door is the first thing you see. For 1 Euro the subway will take you to the Colesseum (has to be the biggest bargain in Rome).
Breakfast is selected from a menu when you arrive and served on a trolley to your room at the time you want it (including steaming cappucinos). Free internet access. I could go on.
There are a lot of over priced hotels in Rome with tacky rooms. This is not one of them. Will definitely stay here again if/when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromTrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

My wife and I spend our honeymoon in Rome and stayed at Casa Montani in early June this year. We had a perfect 5 days stay in this wonderful town house. Everything is just outside the door in walking distance including the metro. You feel very welcome here: The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us many recommendations which was very appreciated as it was our first trip to Rome. The room was very nice: Tastefully decorated, very clean, perfect air conditioned and surprisingly very quiet even though we were in the middle of everything.
We will definitely stay here again when we will come back to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#22 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Parioli
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
#53 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 181
Babuino 181
#35 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#22 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Parioli
VICO Rooms&Terrace
VICO Rooms&Terrace
#319 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Campo Marzio
Corso Boutique Hotel
Corso Boutique Hotel
#75 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House

Property: Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Address: Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Montani Rome
Casa Montani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing