We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Ranked #119 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Since I threw a coin into the Trevi fountain, I'm destined to return to Rome and if that is the case then I will be making sure I book into Casa Montani again. Even before we arrived we were offered collection from the airport and tour options. The location was fantastic, as mentioned by others - Metro station entrance outside the door so a hop, skip and you are at the Vatican or Colosseum. It's 10/15 walking distance to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Stylish and calming rooms,I liked the fact there was a list of recommended restaurants in the room for the different areas in Rome. And the choices for breakfast. Yummy. It was delicious and delivered to our room. The shower was strong which I like, and the Hermes products a lovely luxurious touch. However where it stands out was the service. So helpful. My friend fell on our last day of our trip and we needed to get to a hospital. Giuseppe could not have been more helpful which meant the whole experience wasn't as stressful as it could have been. Thanks to his help, my friend was able to find a local hospital and get treated within 3 hours and most importantly we were able to make our flight home. And that peace of mind is priceless.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjudge109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Generally a very nice hotel/apartment in Rome. It's located just outside the old city walls which means it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the center of the old town and tourist attractions. Of course, the train/subway is right in front of the building so its easy to get to most places quickly. The downside is that there isn't really much in the immediate area. By immediate I mean around the building. But taxi's aren't expensive.

As we booked late, we took the last remaining of the 5 rooms, which was small, but clean and modern, with all the amenities we needed except tea and coffee making facilities. The included breakfast was perfect and delivered to your door. Just don't forget to 'call' when you are ready for it in the morning.....otherwise they won't disturb your privacy.

The 5 rooms are located on the third floor of an office building, so staying here isn't your usual hotel experience. It feels a little cold walking through the hallways and the small lift before getting to the apartments. But security is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Casa Montani is such a delight to stay at and it is right across street from Piazza del Popolo (which is wonderful, had music jazz group playing there, also Borghese gardens is right behind it and has a lovely park!) (great location)..awesome Jelli was there to greet us the moment we arrived and to show us to our room. The room was soooo very nice. Very pretty beige and off white, bathroom with little Hermes soaps, products...and oh, the window was picture pretty with the loveliest view!!! Note: there windows are double pained so it is very nice quiet for a good nights sleep! We were given a breakfast menu / list to choose from which if you want something different (need to fill out another each evening). They had breads, jams, honey, pastries, cheeses, coffee, tea....The hotel is right next to the metro to get transport to top sites in Rome, but most sites are within walking distance...Spanish Steps is about 10 minutes walking and alot of shops are in between!!! Walking is really the best way, cause you will run across things ...shops, sites, churches, ....otherwise not seen on metro. Jelli gave us a map and directions... Guiseppe is so helpful and very nice to chat with...he set us up with transport to the Rome airport for our departure that was very on time and reasonable price of Euro 40. Sweet Melinda was there the day we left and made sure we had a nice breakfast and wished us a good arrivederci. Thank you everyone at Casa Montani for making our stay beautiful memories!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sienachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Casa Montani for 2 weeks. We chose it solely based on the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were quite pleased. On a previous trip to Rome, we stayed at a hotel recommended by several guidebooks that had been berated on TripAdvisor, and we found that the TripAdvisor reviews were more accurate than the guide books, so this time, we went with TripAdvisor recommendations. Casa Montani is not for those who want the usual hotel with a busy lobby and lots of guests. There are only 5 rooms, but the staff gets to know you and is extremely helpful. Giuseppe got us dinner reservations everywhere we wanted to go. (Glass Hosteria in Trastevere is amazing, by the way.) The hotel is in an office building, but once you enter those big wooden doors, you step out of the chaos and into a quiet, refuge, noise free with very comfortable beds. The room was on the small side, but still very easy to maneuver in, and so simply and tastefuly decorated, in soft gray tones, with a lovely marble bathroom, and the best water pressure of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Showering was almost a religious experience. What a find! We'd stay there again and again. It came to feel like home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariannenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have stayed here three times and don't bother looking at other hotels in Rome. Nothing has changed that after our latest visit. Rooms remain very comfortable (wonderful soft pillows not like the normal concrete Italian hotel variety). Staff are excellent. No you don't generally get to meet other guests but to call this a B&B as another reviewer has is really not fair. The fact this is a small place means you are treated as an individual and the lack of big corporate hotel "sameness" is part of its charm.
As for location, yes, it is a little north of the main sights (except the Borghese area) but Rome is not London or Paris - you can walk to the Forum in less than 30 minutes (we walked back from Trastevere on this trip). Restaurants in the immediate area may not be great but you don't have to walk far to find ones that are and you get to stroll back through a wonderful area afterwards. You do have a metro stop literally at the front door if you want to head further afield.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2fromTrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My wife & I stayed in Rome for three days and used this as our home base. We stayed in the suite b/c all of the other rooms were booked (we inadvertently picked the weekend of the beatification of the Pope JPII). Our comments are:
- Has a bed & breakfast feel to it b/c it only has five rooms. They bring your continental breakfast to your room in the morning, so we never even saw any other guests
- This is a great place if you need your sleep. They have blackout curtains and thick windows, so you don't hear the noise from the street (except for the occassional ambulance). In addition, my wife has a bad back and she loved the bed here
- It has a subway stop right next to it, so we used that to go to the Forums and Vatican. It was very convenient for getting to the Roma Termini for our next segment of our trip as well
- There are many brand specific stores nearby (Burberry, Tumi, etc.) if you're there to shop, but there aren't many historical sites within easy walking distance other than the Spanish Steps and the Galleria Borghese. Also, we were not very impressed by most of the local restaurants - the food was good at most, but nothing spectacular for the price

We liked the hotel and staff and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Shoeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very highly recommended. Perfect location, with easy access by metro. Nearby Piazza del Popolo, excellent restaurants, walking distance to Vatican and most Rome sites including Pantheon and Fountain of Trevi. Excellent free breakfast, brought to the room, room service style. Very romantic. Quiet room, well-decorated, comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom and shower area. Absolutely lovely stay. Considering that most places we looked were at least 140 euros, the extra was worth it to stay at such a convenient, beautiful, romantic, comfortable, clean and quiet place. Ooh and don't forget the free wifi!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#5 of 1,272 in Rome
526 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Roma
The First Roma
#30 of 1,272 in Rome
875 reviews
Trevi
Residenza Torre Colonna
Residenza Torre Colonna
#57 of 3,779 in Rome
452 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#47 of 3,779 in Rome
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House

Address: Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $129 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Montani Rome
Casa Montani Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing