We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edy

Edy
Ranked #892 of 12,140 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cosy and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I really like this place. Its on a quiet side street and does not feel at all turstic. We were lucky to get a table outside (it is a little dark inside so if you book, try to make it outside) and we had great service. The house wine (rosso) worked both for our caprese as starter and the pasta for main. I cant really see way people consider Edy expensive. A bottle of good wine is €14 and all the fantastic pasta (we tried the Carbonara and Pasta with mushroom) is €9-12.

Helpful?
1 Thank Busseburre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    320
    99
    49
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great position and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Up a side street off a very central area we all had fabulous meals freshly prepared ( which we found many in Rome weren't)
Speedy service, and of real value was house wine at just 5 euros for half a liter. Table cover charge 2.5p each a bit irritating but seems the norm for Rome.
Would definitely recommend
Best outside if you can get a table

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious home made food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant is nestled up a small side street and was recommended by a local. Service was super fast and friendly. Food was of high quality- the porcini mushrooms were fresh and delicious as well as pastas. Only thing is inside is quite dark if you don't get a place outside to sit and toilet is near the kitchen. Would return though.

Helpful?
Thank TravelBug00739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“a lovely and affordable restaurant in a trendy area of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Restaurants in the Spanish Steps area in Rome can be tourist traps - often the food is bad and the price outrageous. Edy is certainly an exception: situated just off the beaten track, in a side alley of via del Babuino, it offers al fresco dining in a quiet and atmospheric pedestrian area. We had a lovely meal (both fish and typical local Roman meat dishes were on offer), a very kind service, good wine, all for a very reasonable price. Not surprisingly, there was a queue of people waiting for a table. We'll go there again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This side street restaurant was worth the search. The food was excellently prepared and reasonably priced. The house wine was excellent and a great value. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Spanish Steps area. This family owned and run restaurant served high quality food with very good service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edy also viewed

 

Been to Edy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing