We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A culinary marvle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il pagliaccio

Il pagliaccio
Ranked #1,087 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A culinary marvle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Il Pagliaccio was an extraordinary experience from the moment we made our reservation on-line till after we walked out the door. Danielle, the general manager, made us feel welcome and special beginning with the reservation process. Everything and everyone about il Pagliaccio made us happy and joyous. The food, which we experienced through the 8 course Il Pagliaccio tasting menu, was exquisite, extraordinay and absolutely delightful. We raved about the lingering memories of the delicate taste and genious combinations of the foods for many hours. But most important of all, the service staff was so professional and friendly and happy that they made this experience extra special for us. It was not just us. Looking around, it was amazing to see how each and every single guest was smiling and looked overly content in every way. Everything about Il Pagliaccio was joyous and perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thecrabbysage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    116
    68
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good choice for Michelin starred meal in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My friend and I each had the 12 course degustation menu. Along with the number of amuse buche offered, this was a very large quantity of food. Every dish was well thought out, executed and presented. We preferred some over the others but this was merely a matter of taste over the ingredients used. For example, my friend did not like the red mullet or pigeon, not because it was not well cooked, but due to his dislike of strong flavored ingredients. I think it's best if you let them know beforehand if you prefer not to have certain foods.The wine and drinks were reasonably priced and the service was attentive and professional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“amazing evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had the 12 course tasting menu.
Every dish was full of surprises.
The service was great, waiters were very helpful and smiling.
The decoration of the restaurant was a bit out dated, but as long as you are having a nice time, the decoration should not matter.
Overall, it was good in value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loblobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food. Strange service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had 7:30 reservation. We were first to arrive in the whole restaurant (I guess it is an Italian/Spanish thing). Tasting menu was our choice. Colorful combination of amuse-bouches. Absolute majority of dishes in the rather lengthy menu was excellent. Although we felt that we overate, we enjoyed it very much. Waiting staff was friendly, but a bit too overbearing. We were under a watchful eye of about 4 individuals. Sommelier's advices were very good and made our experience even more memorable.
Here is my problem: I take a lot of photos of my food with different cameras. Usually I ask permission to do so. That was the only place ever where I was asked to stop taking pictures because it is disturbing other customers. BUT WE WERE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE RESTAURANT!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dostrovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Rome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Based on history, Rome really can't boast of great selection of food except for Carbonara. Albeit being a fusion restaurant, it was the best Roman food experience that I had! My friends and I knew it was going to be pricey but we were up for a gastronomic adventure so we went for it. Although we were one of the first to arrive for dinner service, this worked to our advantage because we had the staff's undivided attention. The service is better than most of the restaurants we have tried in 5 star restaurants in hotels but due to the timing of when we arrived it was beyond what we expected.

The staff made us feel welcome but on top of that, they actually made us excited about the food that was about to be served. The person taking care of us, Giuseppe was so engaging we couldn't stop talking to him! The sommelier, Matteo gave amazing recommendations based on our preference. We simply described what we enjoyed and he recommended the most fragrant and delicious white wine we have ever tasted!

i suggest you take the tasting menu because it gives you the perfect glimpse of the best taste they can offer. The flavors unfold in series and it's always a surprise how they can balance the taste of different cuisines.

Let's just say that that we were more than satisfied with the dinner menu, we actually came back to have the lunch set the next day!

This recommendation is only for serious foodies. If your taste lean towards the home cooked pasta and pizza, this place is not for you. This gastronomic adventure is for people who don't mind taking 3 hours to enjoy their food and experiencing the different flavors unfold as the dishes get served in their own creative presentation.

When in Rome... I would surely go back!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diwata1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il pagliaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing