We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy by Train”
Review of Crosti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crosti Hotel
Ranked #221 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Crosti Hotel in November for 3 nights with my girlfriend. It was an easy 5 minute walk from the train station, Termini. Easy access to Metro which we used to get all around Rome. Our room was simple and small, but it was clean and free of pests. The walls were in need of a paint job as they had many marks on them. The front desk staff, all English speaking, were helpful in providing information and they sold me 2 euro beers upon request. I also bought my Roma Pass from the front desk for 30 euros. We booked the hotel as part of a travel package, so I don't know the exact room price that was paid, but I have gleamed that it's a solid hotel for budget travelers. The free breakfast is typical of what we received at other budget hotels in Italy. It did get a little warm in the room as the HVAC system gets switched to heating mode on November 1st and cannot be switched back to cooling if warm days occur after that date, we just opened the windows and the room cooled down quickly. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Crosti Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 855 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

i chose Crosti based on the opinions of my fellow TA reviewers and, once again, was was led to a great little hotel. very easy to find if you print a STREET MAP - 10 min. walk from train station even dragging a suitcase. i emphasize the map because you want to have a clear view of where your going - its Rome - streets aren't straight and change names often - you want a map and not simply written directions. if your coming in from the airport by train and intend on leaving the same way, buy your return trip ticket on the way in - lines at the Roma Termini get very long. the metro is very handy but you may want to wait before buying a multi day pass right off - many attractions are easily reached from Crosti by foot. if your planning on renting a car and driving yourself, cancel your trip and invest the money in a qualified mental health care professional - driving in Rome in pure insanity!!
ok - the hotel. the ever-so-charming Claudia and the rest of the housekeeping staff keep the hotel and apartments spotless. no request seems to be too much to achieve. as pointed out in other reviews, the shower is small - especially when like me, you are 6'4'' and 265 lbs - but there is plenty of hot water which is all i need. the beds are as comfortable as i have ever found in any hotel. some of the apartments have a lovely patio which is great for morning coffee or evening wine. the breakfast is outstanding. manned most mornings by Steffi, who will brighten anyones jet lagged morning, there is an excellent selection of meat, cheese, bread, cereals, several great pastry selections and Steffi brews a great pot of coffee. the front desk staff of Giovanni, Pietro and Germano are unsurpassed for service and professionalism. these three gentlemen helped me with everything from the normal food outlet recommendations to navigating the intricacies of the Italian postal system!! i honestly have never encountered a better staff and the title of my review tells you how they made me feel.
there are numerous food outlets nearby and the front desk guys will steer you in the right direction. Caruso's for gelato - Pietro likes pistachio. U Guiliano near the termini has unbeatable pastry. Antica Pizzeria DeRoma and Antica Pizzeria del Secolo have tasty pizza options. Steak House Ristorante offers excellent trippa a roma if you care to branch out a bit. Ghezzi salumeria has wonderful picnic supplies and a very friendly and helpful staff. La Famiglia has a very nice, very reasonable antipasto buffet - unfortunately there needs to be a word of warning here - there is a young gal who works lunch that should be avoided - the evening guys do a reasonable job but she just needs to go away - arrogance and inattention had me pull her tip off the table.
making this all simple, stay at Crosti and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: discuss all of the options - hotel and apartments - before deciding. apts are a 5 min walk from the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nd2trvmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Rome
1
Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from a six night stay at Crosti Hotel. For those that want to use the Metro to get around you will be glad to know that it's a five minute walk from Termini. We've been to Italy before and found that Italians are not always the friendliest so were concerned with the service we would receive upon our arrival. We were relieved to find that the customer service is exceptional here!! This is especially true with "Pietro", the soft spoken elderly concierge. The airline lost our luggages and he went out of his way to contact them to find out what was going on. He was very very friendly and his demeanor really put me at ease during such stressful circumstances.

We stayed at the annex apartment which is a good 5 minute walk from the hotel itself. It was spacious and clean. It had an effective kitchen with pots and pans for those who want to cook in. There were a couple of grocery stores near by so you could definitely do that if you wish. We ate out everyday. The bed was a little bit too hard for my husband thus he opted to sleep on the sofa a couple of nights for back relief. The elevator going up to our room is VERY small!! I'm 5 feet tall at 98lbs and if I find it small...it's small. The biggest concern I had for the apartment was that the walls are very thin. We had neighbors for two nights of our stay and we heard all of their conversations during those nights which was uncomfortable. Another minus was that there were no English speaking channels to watch. Granted we were hardly there to watch TV but at night when we wanted to relax and watch TV, there was nothing we could watch. Another thing was the AC unit in our bedroom was very very loud. While the bathroom was clean, the standing shower was very small. I am of small stature but still found it too small.

Overall, we had a great stay here and would highly recommend it. We'd defineitly stay here again should we return to lovely Rome!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thats-kandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good hotel! Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet, with a large bathroom (try out the - noisy, but working ! - bathtub-jacuzzi, so pleasant after a day of walking). Breakfast was good as well (but italian tea is definitely awful). Friendly staff.

Room Tip: We asked for a big bed (we're tall).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel itself is average. The rooms are clean and small. The showers are even smaller. The location is good. It is in walking distance from the termini train station. However the service that the Hotel provides is EXCELLENT. Not only was I greeted warmly, the receptionist took his time, to explain EVERYTHING. He pulled out a map, showed us where we were on the map and circled some attractions we were interested in. They even called around to find out what restaurants where open during "siesta time" showed us how to get there. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. The restaurants they recommended were delicious. Not your standard tourist traps at all. They even called us a cab to get us to a bar when we were going out one late rainy night. I had a great stay and would recommend it to my peers.

Room Tip: The staff is on point about everything. The only downner is that they do not have an iron. Other tha...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cylantro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent three nights at the Crosti. The welc ome was first claa; friendly and helpful; bags were taken to the room where we were shown everything including how to work the safe. The room was good sized and the bathroom was really quite large. It was all very clean and the towels were changed every day. The large bed was comfortable and the bed linen spotless.
Breakfast in the basemment area was exactly what was needed - a good range of savoury and sweet choices and service was friendly and efficient.
At the desk they were v hepful in phoning the return taxi company for us and all the front staff were amiable and helpful.
We would stay there again without doubt. The metro is not far away but we found it easy to walk to all parts of Rome, thus seeing places off the tourist trail. The bar across the road was friendly and the Mont Arsi resto around the corner was a cut above some fairly average pizza/pasta touristy places. They had all the staples but a much better range - their fish was excellent and while not cheap well worth the money.

Room Tip: we had room 105 and while it looked onto a courtyard we don't stay in city hotels for the view...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnreestalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#138 of 1,267 in Rome
847 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#214 of 1,267 in Rome
705 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,267 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
828 reviews
Esquilino
Montecarlo Hotel
Montecarlo Hotel
#194 of 1,267 in Rome
1,104 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#186 of 1,267 in Rome
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosti Hotel

Address: Via Castelfidardo, 54, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crosti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in central Rome, a few minutes' walk from Termini Station in the heart of the capital. The CROSTI HOTEL is in an ideal position to visit Rome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crosti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing