We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, but more of a bed than a bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ancient Romance B&B
Ranked #1,789 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights. The location is amazing. 2 minutes to the tram in one direction, 2 minutes to the metro in the other, and 3 minutes from the Vatican.

The room was always very clean but the bed and the bathroom were disappointing. The bed was rather uncomfortable and the pillows were rock hard and incredibly thin - not great for bad backs. Perhaps worse was the bathroom. The actual room was quite clean but the water pump was amazingly loud. It woke me up several times in the night. In addition, for some reason on our second night, a smell (presumable from the drains) came into the room and were really rather unpleasant.

As for the breakfast, as several people have mentioned, it mainly consists of a cake that is left our all day and was there for all 3 days that we were there. In Rome, it's almost a shame not to have a cappuccino and a cornetto for breakfast, but the 5 - 10 euros should be added when considering the cost of this b&b.

That being said, the other rooms seemed nicer (possibly more comfortable?) and the location was great. I would probably stay again if the price was right!

Room Tip: Try not to have the room - La Dolce Vita
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancientromance, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

We are always very happy to receive reviews from all our guests, and we have always accepted any kind of suggestion in order to always improve our service, but it is sincerely very disappointing reading statements like "Breakfast mainly consists of a cake that is left our all day and was there for all 3 days that we were there", because it is absolutely not true.

Our breakfast includes: 2 kinds of cakes, 3 kinds of cereals, croissants, 3 kinds of biscuits, toasted and normal bread, fresh fruit, yogurts, fresh ham and cheese, any kind of juice, milk, jam, nutella, honey and a coffee machine always available with real ground coffee to make perfect cappuccino and espresso. Breakfast is self service.

We do not pretend that everybody likes our breakfast service, but we pretend that everybody would say the truth. Because we are working for our guests and we are always ready to receive constructive complains, because we can then know how to make things better, but sincerely not in this case.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Ancient Romance B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 236 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wow, what a great place! We stayed at this place in September 2011. Great location, walk to Vatican in 2 min. Walk to all the transportation just minutes away. Very private.
Rooms are very clean, and nice size. Service is very friendly. They take care of you at any time of the day. We lost our luggage, friendly stuff helped us to speak to airline multiple times.
Would recommend this place.

Room Tip: We traveled with a baby, and they were able to put a crib in the room. Inform them in advance,
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mashanatoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a really comfortable room, the staff was really nice and very helpful. The room was everything we could have asked for in a B&B, close the the Vatican (only two blocks away) and the Metro (Just outside the door!!!) ....WOW THAT WAS A HUGE BONUS! Massimo was really helpful and very friendly and having FREE WIFI was really nice. Thanks to Massimo and Michelle. Thanks for making our honeymoon great!

Would recommend and would certainly return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. Excellent location and the price is not too bad either. Their suite is cozy and has a nice setting. I would certainly book here upon my next trip. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KedarAngirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The best choice we made in our Italian holiday. Staff were fantastic, especially Massimo , booking process with Michelle was excellent as we had to book an extra room for an additional family member. Nothing was too much trouble. Metro practically at the door, Vatican around the corner and St Peter's a block away. Clean Quite at night, and free wi-fi and pc access with printer. Excellent value and service. I wish I had booked it for our last 4 nights in Rome for which we stayed at a disastrous 4 star establishment (not!). I will go back to Ancient Romance in a heartbeat. Thank you all at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed at this B&B for 3 nights in August with my 2 year old daughter, mother-in-law and husband. I have never stayed in a B&B before so I was somewhat unsure of what to expect.

The location really could not be more convenient. It's located a block away from the Vatican and walking distance to all the major tourist sites. We were able to walk from the hotel to see Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon , the neighboourhood of Trastevere and many other famous sites. The neighbourhood the B&b is located in is also very nice and filled with lovely shops , good restaurants, gelaterias and your fair share of tourist traps.

The rooms were as pictured on the hotel website. I am particulary sensitive to dirty or musty rooms and bathrooms but I found the room and bathroom to be spotlessly clean. We stayed in the Dolce Vita and La Divinia Comedia which are located one floor up from the reception area. The rooms were simple but nicely decorated and both included a mini fridge which proved very helpful. The windows were sound-proof so there was no noise from the busy street below. The rooms are also beside each other on one side of a little lobby area. This was perfect for us as it gave us a sense of privacy from the other guests. I spent quite a lot of time in the room due to my 2 year old and felt very comfortable. The beds were not the best as we found the mattress to be sagging and we could feel quite a few bed springs! However, this seems like a small price to pay considering the cleanliness and overall comfort of the room for the price.

The gentleman in the reception area was very helpful in booking us a pick up service from the airport to the hotel and later a ride back to the airport. He also provided me with a tourist map and spent quite some time giving me directions and recommendations about where to visit. He also recommended the excellent Pizzeria San Marco in the neighbourhood that we ending up visiting twice.

Overall this B&B is extremely good value and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Request the
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PearOken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

ask for staff to organise taxi to airport if required as oppose to getting one off the street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournegirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#689 of 1,267 in Rome
167 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#246 of 1,267 in Rome
596 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,267 in Rome
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#51 of 1,267 in Rome
679 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#39 of 1,267 in Rome
745 reviews
Prati
Suite Rome
Suite Rome
#328 of 1,134 in Rome
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Romance B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Romance B&B

Address: Via Ottaviano 9, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,789 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ancient Romance B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Ancient Romance” is a bed and breakfast located in the wonderful, historical and artistic area of the Vatican City, in the hearth of ancient Rome. It is just 50 metres far from San Pietro square and the Vatican Museums. Our B&B has just been renovated and it is situated in a splendid late-19th-century building, in via Ottaviano, on a quiet pedestrian precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ancient Romance B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Romance Hotel Rome
Ancient Romance Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing