We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAJOR RIP OFF”
Review of Trambus Open

Trambus Open
Ranked #179 of 239 Transportation in Rome
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MAJOR RIP OFF”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After selling us a 24 hour ticket at 10:30 a.m. their bus service shut down by 2 p.m. They were "unable to provide a cash refund". Funny, (or really not) since they only accept cash payment, where does all the cash go?? They were "very sorry" but unable to offer any reasonable solution (like maybe a ticket on any of the other bus services that seemed to be running with no problem??)

The audio is terrible, the seats are cracked and I would NEVER recommend them to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynnintuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    22
    35
    137
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never again, really - just dont bother!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We paid €20 for a two day travel journey for a bus with wet, hard plastic chairs, terrible customer service and a schedule that was never adhered to.
The main reason we chose this company was because the bus comes every 15 minutes, though it is rarely the case. Sometimes you may wait up to 20, 30 minutes and worst of all, in the bus stops proceeding the Termini, be prepared to wait for a few buses to go past as most would be so full it wont take all the passengers that have been waiting at the stop.
Also you are made to change the bus at Termini, which is an inconvenience with two seniors and one baby!
Also the audioguide did not work, bus was quite dirty with wet seats, staff were so absolutely unhelpful, really the whole thing was an embarrassment for me as the holiday organiser!
Dont bother unless you really have to! You see so much more walking within the centre of rome, as these buses really cant access the majority of the alleyways in the city centre.

Helpful?
Thank TashBeestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as bad as the negative reviews make out”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This bus route seems to get a lot of bad reviews, and so we were worried after booking a 72 hour hop-on-hop-off ticket online. However, for us the experience was a good one. The route took us past many of the famous sights (e.g. Colosseum, Vatican City etc.); it was only ever a short wait whenever we needed one, and they were running into the evening late enough for us to get back to our hotel.

Some comments have an element of truth - a few staff were not always as polite as you might expect in some other countries, and on the Green Archeobus some of the headphone ports were not working. However, these were not serious issues and if we had decided not to take this bus we would really have missed out on a great way to see the city and a convenient form of tourist transport.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the best idea! great bus. great way to see rome!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

my husband and i love to travel, but we've never given in to an on/off bus. they seem so... touristy:) we're in our 20's, and are pretty fit. that being said, this was the best decision we made in rome!! i'm currently pregnant, and after 3 days in paris and 1 in rome, my body was begging me to stop walking so much! our hotel was 2 minutes from the termini, so we walked over in the morning. we bought a 2 day pass, and loved every minute. the headphones didn't work some of the time... and the drivers were a little crazy... not to mention the route was NEVER the same any of the 5 times we rode, but you couldn't beat that breeze from the top floor! the stops were frequent enough, and this company seemed like the most frequent of them all. it was the perfect way to see the streets, get your bearings, and just enjoy the sights. we even saw enough of the colosseum from the top of the bus that we saved the $40 and just enjoyed riding and strolling the streets. this comes HIGHLY recommended!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank amkopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEEHAWKEN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE AND WASTE OF MONEY”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A group of about 22 people took the bus in Via de la conciliazione 38 in Rome, Italy. The bus, had no air conditioned and when we ask one of the staffers, she said to open the windows. The earphones did not work and we told the motorist we wanted to get off at Piaza di Venezia and he never complied with our request. Since we did not know Rome, we had to get off very far. Also, the bus was pretty filthy and the operators very rude. Horrible experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gachy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trambus Open also viewed

 

Been to Trambus Open? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing