We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sora Lella

Sora Lella
Ranked #917 of 12,162 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were in Rome for my birthday and I love good food! We had researched all the best restaurants including Mario Battalis favorites. We tried to get a reservation here for dinner, but lunch was all we could get. We made the long walk to Trastavere and the Island and were so thrilled with our meal. Best meal in Rome. Not to be missed if you love good food. Drink their house wine and don't miss cacao pepe! Hope to eat here again. We panicked bc they did not show our reservation, but they seated us anyway. Our waiter was fabulous so friendly even put a candle on my our gelato!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lekingjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    514
    217
    92
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you care about Roman food . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our last visit was after a walk-too-much/gotten-too-hot morning and early afternoon. The cuisine of Rome shines here. The veal meatball app had the best polpettine I've ever tasted. I went with Cacio e Pepe pasta -- al dente the Roman way; lovely spouse chose a different pasta. Both embodied the strong taste and textures of the cooking of the city. In earlier visits, we've had its excellent "quinto quarto" dishes -- oxtail, tripe -- but this time around, a summer's day lunch didn't seem the time to repeat. Service is professional; seating is attractive, comfortable (and cool); prices are reasonable. A longer, full-blown dinner is in our plans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“La cucina Italiana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a great restaurant! The food is devine! If you are looking for traditional Italian food, Sora Lella is the place to be. The service is impeccable and the prices are affordable.
You have to try the parmigiano di melanzane, it's truly the best I ever had!!!
The location of the restaurant, on the little island, makes it even more special to go to this restaurant!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yzabelletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto De Caza, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pasta Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

When in Rome make sure you go to the best little family owned restaurant in the City, located on Tiber Island near the Forum and across from the old Ghetto this is a hidden gem of an eatery. It's the only restaurant on Tiber Island so it won't be hard to find, I had the best Osso Bucco ever! Cooked to perfection, mouth watering, served with elegance, need I say more. Prices are very reasonable, and worth every penny, or Euro that is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience, a must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderful family owned restaurant. We were given the last table without a reservation! Everyone was very nice and the food was wonderful! You must try the eggplant Parmesan and the gelato! The owners are brothers and one is a master gelato maker, delicioso!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wmu37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sora Lella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing