We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in Trastevere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabatini

Sabatini
Ranked #9,240 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great experience in Trastevere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a long flight we arrived in Rome for our 4th trip to the Eternal City. We were able to enjoy a leisurely lunch in one of our favorite piazzas in Rome. We had the Buffalo Mozzarella and Prosciutto carved table-side as antipasti. We enjoyed the Spaghetti alla carbonara made with guanciale rather than panchetta. The guanciale was so crisp and the sauce creamy and eggy served along with fresh pasta... Very good to say the very least. The Spaghetti alle vongole made with fresh pasta and sweet tiny clams was full of salty goodness. Both pastas were wonderful. It was a little expensive with the service charge to sit outside on the piazza but we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    178
    109
    96
    113
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best veal in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Dined here on a glorious evening. Lovely outlook over the square. The wait staff were very efficient and friendly. We had bruschetta which was lovely,then I had the veal cotelleta alla Milanese which was lovely but my husband had the veal escalope with lemon which was absolutely sensational,the best meal he had in Rome . Señor Sabatini still serves in the restaurant and I told him how much we enjoyed our meal, he was really lovely and obviously delighted. We intended to return but alas couldn't hopefully on our next visit to Rome . Sabatinis is not cheap but you get what you pay for and the service is impeccable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you like to people watch while enjoying a meal this is a great place. The food was good. I had the seafood risotto. It was very rich, but nice. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JKCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best service yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The place was recommended but we didn't know what to think from the other reviews. The food was excellent and priceworthy. The service was above expectations. All rhe recommendations we're perfect. The housewine excellent and rhe pasta homemade. Also a great view. Sadly no wi-fi

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatrticeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch there today after touring the Forum and Colosseum, so we were looking forward to a relaxed, lengthy, very good meal. This place did not disappoint. The setting, overlooking the Piazza Santa Maria, was perfect: good people watching. We sat outside, under the umbrellas: a must on a hot, sunny day. The food was great: my eggplant parmagian was the best I have had (out of three) here in Rome; my wife's veal cottoletta was fantastic. The prices were a little high and touristy (55 euros for lunch, including servicio). The waiter was a little snooty, as if he were doing us a favour. Overall, worth the extra euros.

Helpful?
Thank vancouverharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Sabatini also viewed

 

Been to Sabatini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing