We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Piperno

Piperno
Ranked #558 of 12,140 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Piperno came highly recommended, but can't figure out why. Food was good but the service was so bad it left an awful taste in my mouth. The staff made us feel totally unwanted and were borderline rude. Won't go back if it was the only restaurant in Rome. Stay away and tell your friends to do the same!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    321
    100
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I wanted to love this restaurant but just couldn't. It came highly recommended. The little square where it is located is cute, but the ambiance of the restaurant itself is lacking. I thought the food was good but nothing special. The artichokes were good, but we had better ones in the Jewish Quarter later in the trip. The waiter wasn't particularly friendly or helpful. The atmosphere was definitely a little stuffy. It was a fine meal -- just nothing about it stood out as being wonderful or fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hutchins77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“.A big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

After hearing and reading about this restaurant for years, we finally had dinner there last week. We had, of course, heard about the artichokes and they were good but, after several meals in Rome, not distinguished. Or at least not distinguished enough to compensate for the mediocre everything else and the astoundingly slow and poor service. We overlooked the poor service and left a generous tip because the waiter, who only intermittently looked awake, poured generous glasses of wine and because he was so dour we were afraid no tip might lead to suicide. Four nights in Rome and this was the fourth best meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venue for our Farewell to Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a great lunch at Piperno with our family and friends on our last full day in Rome. With children and grandchildren in tow (ages 5 to 8 months) we spent a magical week in Rome and wanted to say a proper farewell with a lunch that included some family friends in Rome. Getting a table for 14 proves to be difficult and Piperno was the ideal venue. They seated us in a private room which exuded elegance and impressed our guests. Food was great (of course their special of the fried artichokes and zucchini flowers still makes my mouth melt). They were exceptional caring of the needs of the children, specially that of grandson who insisted on a "fish pasta" which was not on menu. They made him a delicious simple pasta followed by a plate of filet of sole which he throughly enjoyed.

It is pricey, but well worth it. It is not in "tourist central" but walking there afforded us a good visit into the less beaten path of Rome that still exuded the wealth of its incredible history.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WEQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“real roman food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I lived in Italy for a year in the 1980s, and have been back since then for more than 15 visits. This was one of the best meals of a recent trip. The food is authentically Roman and very well prepared. I was with a group of six, and we had a mix of the antipasti, some pasta, and some meats. There was not one bad dish in the whole group. We sat there for three hours at an outside table and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manhattanislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piperno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing