We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem,hidden away....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostaria da Nerone

Hostaria da Nerone
Ranked #2,200 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Monti
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great little gem,hidden away....”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were walking round aimlessly, looking for a restaurant late in the evening in Rome. After asking a local, he recommended us this little gem near the coliseum.
We were quite luckily as the place was packed with regulars and got a table in the back for 2.
The service was fantastic from the maître d, who also suggested us a nice rich red wine to go with my main course of roast lamb; it also went well with the entrée of antipasto. My partner had roast chicken with roasted peppers and a rich tomato sauce, all done in the ostaria fashion, no fancy effects just plain good home cooked food Italian style…
For dessert we shared a tiramisu, one of the best I’ve had… (And I’m a chef).
The maître then gave us a digestive on the house which was similar to chartreuse, what was the icing on the cake….
You soon got the idea why so many locals were in there, even a local gent with his dog on his knee…
We will be back next time we are in rome….

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    230
    78
    50
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange City, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

RESTAURANT NERONE DI DE SANTIS EUGENIO. We had a table just inside the front door, so everybody entering the restaurant passed by us, as did everybody going to the restroom, which was right next to our table (we thought to set up a toll booth). We had pasta with peas, eggs, bacon and mushrooms, and the buffet, which we found just “interesting.” (Cost of the buffet depended on what you ate and we never did figure out how they determined our check.) Food was OK, service OK, seating terrible

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rb2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
“Poor service, stale bread, small portions”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Came here for lunch on a tour book recommendation, and it was the worst dining experience my husband and I had in Italy. The waiter was both unhelpful and rude, the food tasted like reheated (and not even fully warm) freezer-burnt leftovers, and the bread was very stale. And the portions were so small that we had to go buy more food elsewhere (after spending $30 here) just to get filled up.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious family restaurant near the Colisseum”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I went here after a tour of the Colisseum after seeing it in our Lonely Planet guide book.

We didn't see penne all'arrabiata on the menu (our favorite pasta), but asked for it and they said they could make it for us. We are glad we asked because it was the best we had in Italy. We also ordered salad and a spaghetti w/marinara sauce which were also delicious, but nothing spectacular.

For dessert we ordered the creme brulee, which was probably the most memorable since the caramel on it was thick (maybe almost a 1/4"). Normally we like to break the caramel on creme brulee, but before we could get our hands on it, the waitress took a spoon and gave it a few good whacks to break the caramel. The thick caramel chunks that we ate with the custard made this creme brulee stand out from the rest.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taewon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A typical roman meal.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found a recommendation in our guide book and went looking for this restaurnat. We were able to sit outside even in early October and the food was excellent. The waiters are friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria da Nerone also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria da Nerone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing