We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical roman meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostaria da Nerone

Hostaria da Nerone
Ranked #2,124 of 12,162 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Monti
Walsall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A typical roman meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found a recommendation in our guide book and went looking for this restaurnat. We were able to sit outside even in early October and the food was excellent. The waiters are friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    232
    79
    50
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most memorable in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was one of those little restaurants that you always hope you find when wandering a city like Rome. Located between the colleseum and San Pietro Vincoli we were looking for a place to eat while waiting to see Michelangelo Moses sculpture and ended up at Nerone. We ended up staying for two hours, enjoying a full bottle of Chianti Clasico for only €16 plus some amazing food. This was the most authentic Roman meal we had in our 4 days in Rome. At the end of the meal they offered us complimentary limoncello drinks. It was so good we returned the following day for lunch and this time had a view of the colleseum from the outdoor patio. The host remembered us from the day before and was very grateful for our return. They did not speak English to us although we did hear the host speak English to a few other tourists. This was all a lot of fun as we did our best to order in Italian.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Memorable food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

After a long day at the Colosseum we found this place via trip advisor. We were glad to find it was not a tourist trap. The food was very good traditional roman dishes. The baccala was fabulous as well as the tiramisu. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is very close to a student terrace so be careful where u sit, you might find yourselves another restaurant all together ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghisoiuradu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This restaurant is located not far from the Colosseum. We went there for lunch, it was alright, the portion was small for the price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owlie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Get yourself there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fantastic food in a great setting near to the Colleseum. Full of locals and serving great food. Reasonable prices and friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mistermarcus1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria da Nerone also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria da Nerone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing