We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unnique Rome experience”
Review of L'Eau Vive

L'Eau Vive
Ranked #1,515 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A unnique Rome experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nuns from all over the world wait tables and prepare the food, which is international with a distinct French flair. Aspects are somewhat less than professional, but that's easily forgiven. Food is well prepared and flavorful. We had guinea fowl and shrimp for main courses, both very nicely done. At about 10pm the nuns sang the Ave Maria and performed a Mexican hat dance. Where else are you going to find that mix of free entertainment in a restaurant?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    104
    50
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and amazing experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had read of this restaurant. This year in Rome our apartment was round the corner and as we passed one night we heard the nuns singing so we decided to go for a meal. The surroundings were tranquil and the waitresses lovely. Our 8 year old had the set menu which for 3 courses was great value. He had a tomato and cucumber salad followed by pork and then icecream. I tried the international dish of the day which was meat with beautifully cooked vegetables with cous cous. My Mum had the creme caramel for dessert and sait it was the best ever. At 9 the nuns sang and it was an uplifting experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CUB535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Rome”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Something special for gourmets. Very good service. Excellent atmosphere especially for religious people...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,ON
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ventured in on our first night in Rome and were thrilled to find they still had room for 2. Dinner was served in the upstairs hall which has beautiful ceillings and great layout. The missionary sisters serving here are so sweet and welcoming that we honestly didn't care much about what the food would turn out, we just lived the ambience.

What an amazing bonus it was to taste the delectable meal. The antipasti a l'italiene were delicious as was the steak with pepper, cream and cognac and the Saturday shrimp special. We were too full to have desert that night.

We loved the 10pm Ave Maria and were just so happy with the experience that we decided to return , with a friend, 2 days later (I never eat twice at the same restaurant when traveling!!). This time I had the pear and Roquefort salad followed by the leek tarte and profiteroles. All were outstanding!

It is definitely a place for a more mature crowd therefore quiet and classy.
Like our travel guide said: if it was good enough for Pope John Paul II to eat there, it'll be good enough for you :)

I agree it is on the expensive side but for us, the experience more than made up for it and the money goes to support their missions so we considered it all worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanSand&Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An unusual but very pleasant experience”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I spotted this restaurant in a travel guide. It has a French cuisine and you are attended to by missionary nuns from around the world. Our waitresses were from Vietnam and Polynesia. They were very attentive and had a pleasing manner. The menu was very good, and to my wife's surprise the wine list was excellent. The food was of good quality. The unusual aspect of this restaurant is Ave Maria is said by the nuns at about 9:30 pm. Cards are issued to all the diners, so that they can join in, if they wish. We found the whole experience quite moving and would recommend the restaurant for its food and wine list. The service from the nuns is a bonus!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JVHWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Eau Vive also viewed

 

Been to L'Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing