We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and spacious base to explore Rome.”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
A corner...
Kitchen area
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Shower
Bathroom
From the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Finbarr M
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing and spacious base to explore Rome.”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I don't often review properties but thought this apartment and Frederico merit a special mention.
The booking process is simple and communication excellent. Frederico arranged transfers for us to be collected from the airport Ciampino (40 Euro e/w). With 2 children (14 and 10) and after an early morning flight I was happy with this. The journey took approximately 1 hour at 1030, however only 20 minutes on the way back at 0700 on a Saturday morning!
On arrival Frederico was there to greet us and ran through the details of the apartment, travel in Rome and other specific queries we had. He is welcoming and has a great manner about him. The apartment is well furnished, secure, welcoming and the kitchen is well stocked with utensils as well as a welcoming pack. Bus stop is outside and Tram stop nearby. We used trams, buses, trains, metro and taxi on our trip!
One helpful tip when in Rome is to get a ATAC transport map from a tabac. Four transport tickets and a map is 7 euro, effectively a euro for the transport map. We found this invaluable and easy to navigate. Almost all sites are very easy to walk to once in the centre of Rome, although remember Rome is built on several hills which are not clear on any map!
There are several restaurants, shops etc near by. We found some fantastic restaurants near Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere, get off the tram before crossing the bridge, which are very reasonable, friendly and absolutely buzzing with life. Being able then to relax in the Piazza's watching the street entertainment was an absolute joy.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this apartment and I thank Frederico for his help and patience with us. It's not right beside the Trevi fountain, Vatican or Colleseum which in no way should be a concern. On our second day we left at 0645 to return at 0030 with no transport issues!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: WElcome.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
A very nice family... a pleasure hosting you all ! I think that your comments could be of invaluable help to future guests. I'm happy that you liked the place and that you enjoyed your stay in Roma. I'd love to see you again. Many many thanks for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara B
1 review
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As a first time visitor to Rome we couldn't have picked a better place to stay this September. We travelled with our 18month old son who adored the spacious and sunny apartment, which had every necessity needed for our stay.

Federico is a dedicated and warm host, he really does think of everything. He welcomed us with detailed information packs, metro passes and a breakfast pack, which was greatly appreciated. As it has been noted by others he really did go above and beyond the expected in helping us out with any sticky situations, even purchasing adaptor plugs for us which we had forgotten at home.

As noted the apartment is a few minutes away from the tram, which is very regular so never a long wait. Venturing to attractions was at times hard and tiring with our young son but it was always a pleasure to get back and rest in the lovely apartment. Federico also allowed us to depart late which was very helpful as my son could have his afternoon nap before our flight.

Please note pavements of Roma are not pram friendly but nonetheless we found it helpful having a pram, still less tiring than carrying our son everywhere.

Definitely recommended from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment
Liked least: no lift
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
It is always a pleasure welcoming a nice young family with a lovely miniature man. Definitely guests that every owner would like to see again. Communications have been excellent before and through their stay. On leaving, the apartment has been left in a perfect state . Should they decide to come back to Rome again, I can only hope that they would select again my place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelDanny
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Magnificient Apartment and Host 10+++++”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I rented this apartment from Federico based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. Needless to say everything surpassed our expectations.

The apartment is fully furnished, spacious and beautiful. The pictures do not do the apartment justice. The apartment has spacious windows that can be fully opened and nice balcony. There is no need for air conditioning. A beautiful Rome breeze and the pedestal fans were all that were needed.

Our host Federico went far and beyond that of a normal host. He made the arrangements from and to the airport in Rome. Met us personally and explained everything. He had a folder showing bus lines and free Wi-fi connection numbers and other information we would find helpful. He also provided with the survival kit (cookies, bread, cereal, milk, eggs and yogurt) and also 2 bus passes to get us started.

We did not want to be in the center of the tourist hot spots. The apartment is only 15 minutes away from all the tourist sights in Rome. Tram #8 is across the street from the apartment will take you to the center of Rome and from there you can bus or walk to all the popular tourist destinations. Tram #8 will also bring back to the apartment.

The neighborhood is secure, quiet and withing a walking distance of a couple blocks to everything you need with out the crowds of tourists. There are food markets, convenience stores, tobacco shops and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk.

On a side note, our daughter who decided to travel to Rome for her honeymoon was stuck at the airport with her new husband, we asked Federico for help and he made arrangements within 5 minutes to have them picked up at the airport and transported to their apartment Service beyond expectations!!

If you plan to visit Rome, please consider this apartment and the host Federico, Our trip was made more enjoyable because of him. We did not need to worry for anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Many, many thanks for your comments. I can only say that it has been a pleasure to host such an elegant, nice and witty couple. I try to do my best to be a step ahead of guests' request, hence the information package.... I have to say that I learn a lot from interfacing with them. It was also a pleasure to be able to help their daughter with transfer. I truly hope to be able to meet them again in Roma or in Texas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenainSG
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the pictures!”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed in the Kandinsky House apartment for 4 days with my husband, my 4 years-old daughter and my sister in July 2015. We had selected it because of the location (very convenient for us as close to my relatives) and taking into account the favourable reviews, although the pictures illustrating the announcement on tripadvisor did not seem to be outstanding.
The first positive feature was during the reservation / confirmation / payment period: the owner was extremely helpful and proactive. In addition to all the necessary logistic information, he took the initiative of asking us about what we coud find useful for our little daughter in order to make our stay more confortable.
When we finally arrived at the apartment, we could confirm that our initial positive impression was correct: the owner provided us with a lot of information and left in the apartment what he called "first day kit" (fresh milk, yogurt, juice, eggs, bread, cereals, jam, butter, biscuits, water, ...).
The apartment, located on the 2nd floor (without lift) is very confortable, spacious, fully equipped and, in my opinion, much better decorated than what it looks like in the pictures.
As the weather was extremely hot in Rome (40 degrees C), 3 fans were available to cool down the air. I think that air conditioning would have been appreciated, but we did not have problems in sleeping.
I think that the apartment is great for families with children and for friends.
Nevertheless, I would not recommend it to the following categories:
- disabled travelers and older travelers, due to the absence of a lift,
- very light sleepers, due to the relatively frequent transit of ambulances to the San Camillo hospital: it should be noted however that the noise is barely audible if the windows are closed.
Overall, an extremely nice apartment, a great stay and excellent client service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Equipment, client service, decoration
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Elena, thank you very much for having found enough time to write such an extensive and nice review. I agree that this year , with the heat wave we have experienced, air conditioning would have helped. I'm considering to retrofit the apartment whit it. I'm happy that you found useful the "first day survival kit". I believe it makes the first approach to town more easy for people unfamiliar with the neighboroud (not your case...). I would really like to have again guests like you and your family. No guests before have left the apartment in such an impeccable condition. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teodora G
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a perfect place to stay in Rome!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place to stay in Rome!!! The apartment is spacious, very clean and so sunny, gives the traveler a homey feeling. The host is wonderfully welcoming, ready to go through all the trouble to accommodate the visitors and to make their stay an unforgettable experience. Great location of the apartment as well, a little away from the tourist masses (which in our opinion was a big plus), but on a very convenient tram and bus stops getting the visitors quickly to the center of the city. The neighborhood feels safe and it has nice restaurants and shops around. It was such a great choice renting this apartment! I would highly recommend it to everybody who wants to visit this amazing European city and expects a superb renting experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean, sunny and welcoming the apartment is.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Teodora, many thanks for sharing your experience. It has been nice to host you and your relatives after the extensive exchange of electrons over the web. I'm also happy that you've enjoyed the stay and have been able to see a lot of the ancient Roma. Finally many thanks for having left the apartment in impeccable conditions. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnhF381...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, spacious, fully-equipped apartment. Perfect to kick-back after a day in busy Rome!”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A colleague and I stayed in this lovely apartment for a week whilst attending a conference in Rome - half-holiday half business! This apartment was perfect for our needs. Many apartments do not live up to their pictures, but this was certainly the exception and was very tidy, spacious and well-equipped.

The apartment owner, Federico is a brilliant guy who was very accommodating from the moment the apartment was booked. He was in touch by email in advance of our travels and helped us organise our transfers from Fiumicino airport via Airport Shuttle (I'd highly recommenced the Airport shuttle service if you're coming in vis FCO - be careful with airport taxis as a friend got overcharged!). Upon arrival, Federico met us at the apartment and gave us a full tour and lots of information about where to go and how to use the public transport. He even had a 'survival pack' for us ready for our first morning (bread, juice, eggs, etc.) which was very kind and very well received!

The apartment is situated in a quieter area of Rome which was very much welcome after the hustle and bustle of being around the cities central areas. It is quite close to a busy hospital but that wasn't an issue. There is a tram line adjacent to the apartment on the main road coming down the hill - but unfortunately it only re-opened after repairs on our last day! Despite this, there was easy access to bus routes right next to the apartment, getting us to where we needed to go. It took us roughly 35-40mins to cross town to the Sapienza University using the bus and metro - and this was in traffic so very good. Public transport is €1.50 for 100mins travel so we basically used 2 per day usually (but please note you need to get these tickets in advance so buy a few at a time from the Tobacconist shops (or at the stations)).

All-in-all this was a great choice, and if you're looking for somewhere nice to stay in Rome look no further. I will certainly be looking to stay here again on my next visit!

Pro tip: If you want to see a good example of an ancient Roman town visit the ancient Roman port of Ostia Antica - we took a 25 min train from Rome (using our standard transport ticket) from Ostiense which is part of the Piramide Metro station. A five minute walk from the Ostia Antica station is a wonderful (and surprisingly quiet) well preserved Roman port city. We did this in lieu of visiting Pompeii and were not disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment owner made everything so simple, with lots of information, helping to organise transfers and the first morning survival pack. This really helped us to find our feet on arrival!
Liked least: It was quite warm in the evening, fans did the trick for the most part.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Many, many thanks for your review . It has been a pleasure hosting this couple of fellow engineers, full of enthusiasm for their conference at the Sapienza University and for the opportunity to visit modern and ancient Roma. Communications before and during their stay were excellent. I really hope to host them again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
808_vicky
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Flat to relax in after a day of Touring”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I rented this flat for several days while we were in Rome. The flat is just a bit out of the center of Rome but only by a mile (1.4KM) or so. I can almost promise you that after a day of touring in Rome you will be so happy that it is. If you have never been to Rome it packed, busy and chaotic almost every where you go. The flat is really in a great location there are locally owned shops all around from bars, pizza places, stores and grocery stores in all directions.

There is plenty of room for everyone and the flat is super clean and safe. The owner was in contact by e-mial and phone before and during our trip to ensure all was well and if we needed anything. Most rentals I have rented no one even shows up to greet you or it some person in a hurry and that is the last thing I want after time on a plane or train. Also the owner was very nice and stocked the kitchen with food our first morning so we did not have to rush to the store. He even asked several time if we wanted anything special "food" he could stock for us before our arrival.

As for getting around or in Rome center it is super easy. There are tram and buses that pass stops that are just outside the flat. Just hope on the H bus or the 8 tram and ride it to the transportation hub in the center of Rome and you can hope on trains, other buses to anyplace. We found this the best way navigate the transit system. Also the owner of the flat will go over maps, the public transit system and the area with you in great detail once you arrive. He even set our travel to and from the airport. I can not say enough how very happy and please we were.

The pictures provided for this flat are spot on. So happy about this since it is hard to really tell in most of these rental places. The only thing is there is a hospital just down the road and you can hear the emergency vehicles during the day and at night around bed time they seem to just stop. Not sure if they stop running or people do not get hurt after dark. LOL
I would stay here time and time again with no thoughts of even looking for anyplace else. If you are planing a trip to Rome then you owe it to yourself to rent this flat. If you choose a hotel in the city Center good luck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything! Really.. The owner!!!
Liked least: The tram tracks where being repaired but it was not an issue due to the buses and other means of transit.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
Wow ! What a nice review ! Many many thanks. I really believe that when you are renting a place you also need to get assistance. I try hard to be of assistance to our guests and to make sure they find the information and help needed when you are in a foreign place. As far as the hospital, I've tried to relocate it ... unfortunately without success. Many thanks again. Hope to see the same group of nice ladies again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing