We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Alle fratte di trastevere
Ranked #518 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Description: A Trastevere corner neighborhood restaurant.Nicely decorated,making local dishes and homemade desserts.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We eat here at least 4 times an the food was superb not to mention the service we had a wonderful time and all the staff where friendly. This is the place to go for authentic Italian food at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    583
    182
    70
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 1/2 week trip to Italy during which time we spent 4 nights in Rome. We ate at Alle Fratte Di Trastevere and it was one of the best meals that we had in Italy. The owner is of American/Italian heritage and really understands customer service. He and his brother are working in and managing their mother's restaurant in the Trastevere area of Rome. We are currently living in Cascias, Portugal so we get wonderful seafood, but I had some of the best salmon I've ever had at this restaurant. The portions were good sized and the food was cooked to perfection. The waiters were very interested in the happiness of their customers and the ambiance and atmosphere was great. It is on a side street in Trastevere so it isn't the easiest place to find, but it is well worth the effort. We didn't have reservations and had to wait as we wanted to eat outside, so I'd recommend reservations. We had tiramisu for dessert and it was also fabulous. My husband had pasta for dinner and loved it. The Italians make great pasta but his dinner was especially good. English is obviously spoken at the restaurant, but not all of the diners were American which is always nice. Take the time to find this place and sit back and enjoy a wonderfully relaxing and fabulous meal. You will NOT be sorry you did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucyluIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple food, done well”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stumbled across this place in the Travestere and enjoyed a pleasant good value meal. The artichoke bruschetta was excellent, good pizza and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Rome”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The place is nice and the food is very good, both main courses and deserts, while prices are not high at all. We have had our best meal where, with only drawback - service. The waiter is not interested in you. But worth a visit anyway! For the foods sake :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 987Anna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant because of its brilliant reviews but we were a little disappointed. I had garlic bread which was almost burnt and really hard. I also had the spaghetti vongole which was just average really. The tiramisu we had for dessert was lovely. Service was mixed. I asked a question about one of the courses when ordering and the waiter smirked and then said something to the other waiter who then looked over at our table. It made us feel rather uncomfortable. Maybe we just caught them on an off day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank queenie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alle fratte di trastevere also viewed

 

Been to Alle fratte di trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing