We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Charge for bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Matriciano

Il Matriciano
Ranked #4,196 of 12,165 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $44 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Prati
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They Charge for bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

In our two week travels, this was the first restaurant that they charged us for bread. They bring it and charge you $2.00 euro per person. I will state that it is amazing bread and yes I would have ordered it, (however, it would have been nice to have it printed on the menu), I am not one who likes "add on" surprises! The waiter also pushed the $26.00 Chianti which was terrible and sweet! The first Chianti on the list at $16.00 is absolutely fantastic!! If you like Artichokes they are a must appetizer and the Melon with pruchutte was mouthwatering. We had the Bucatini Matriciana that was perfectly prepared, and the Arugula with tomato salad was simple fresh and awesome! The Tagliolini Porcini was average (I would pass on this). To end the meal we had the Wild Strawberries with ice cream (not gelato), which was delicious although gelato would have been better. The servers are a bit stuffy lacking any humor, but we would return and try something else.

Helpful?
1 Thank Haley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    304
    164
    102
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - don't understand the bad reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We went there for lunch after visiting the Vatican and really enjoyed the food and the service. The restaurant was full and we actually got the last available table outside. If you in the area, it is worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Eulalia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“THE BEST MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The lady concierge (Hotel de Russie) recommended this restaurant. We had asked for an authentic Roman establishment free of tourists. She said she and her friends eat here regularly so we decided to try it. What a success! From the warm and friendly greeting to the attentive and amusing service throughout and fabulous food, this was by far the best dining experience we had in two weeks in Sicily and Rome. Busy with local customers - mostly mature couples but with a couple of larger tables full of laughter and enjoyment (there was not a child in sight - certainly not any running around screaming. Did the previous reviewer go to the same place?!) - the ambience was perfect. Seated outside as requested, we started with mixed antipasta - fried artichoke and tempura zucchini the high spots - followed by pasta. The famous carbonara was outstanding and the ravioli the best ever. Then the desserts! We mixed the zabagione with the wild strawberries - a perfect combination - but the tiramisu was just divine. Unlike the overly-sweet chocolate and cream gloop one normally gets, this was light and delicious served in a elegant glass with an expresso poured over - sublime! With two bottles of excellent wine, our bill for four people was Euros 120. When in Rome, go here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
2 reviews
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ate here for dinner and were sorely disappointed. The waiter ignored us throughout the meal from start to finish. We waited 20min for water and another 20min for wine. Once we placed our order for the appetizer and entrée they came out quite promptly but incorrectly. The waiter brought out the wrong appetizer and realized it but sat it down in front of us and shrugged his shoulders. Meanwhile, the owner’s kids were running around the restaurant yelling and screaming throughout the entire meal. The pasta dishes were fairly good but by no means spectacular. At the end of the meal the waiter brought us our check and requested a tip. Avoid this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCWBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant - You Will Not Be Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went here on our last night in Rome and what a fantastic evening it was. The location is excellent, the staff brilliant and the food out of this world. If your looking for somewhere special you must go here. Also it is near the Vatican so don't be surprised to see Priests eating here as well as locals - the sign of a good place to eat in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotelwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Matriciano also viewed

 

Been to Il Matriciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing