We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not as good as expected.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antico Arco

Antico Arco
Ranked #211 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $93
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Monteverde
Thimphu
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The eggplant starter with pesto was very good. As was the ravioli stuffed with sea bass. I wasn't too impressed with the pecorino spaghetti which was too heavy and strong. But the pasta and ravioli were both cooked 'al dente'. My friends liked the king prawn and cuttle fish dish but I thought the sauce was too sweet. Service was very good with personal attention from the owner. Not recommended for people looking for a typical, rustic Italian experience. The place is modern but mostly filled with Italians.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DorjiThimphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    293
    90
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fell short”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Similar to other reviews here on TA, we had high hopes for a wonderful meal at Antico Arco but we were disappointed. Its not too say it was a bad experience because it wasn't. Food and service were very good but the ambience was not what I expected from reading other reviews (supposedly romantic). Overall we had a nice meal but it was disappointing based on our expectations -- it falls between average and very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Agree with those who say it falls short of expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this restaurant for our final night in Rome... Expectations were in line with other reviews... saving only one recently we had read that said it was unremarkable. Well My wife and I have to agree... We chose the tasting menu @ 75 Euro each... Not out of line with what we would expect for dining... But the food was not particularly spectacular... in fact most was bland at best... we both agreed other restaurants we had hit our 4 days in Rome were much better... I would honestly skip this one.... Though I will say the short walk to the park on top of the hill has some neat views... The restaurant itself has no views and the decor is almost " sterile" in white... wont find a candle light dinner here...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank texaspirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The experience actually starts with the journey up to the restaurant,some of the views of Rome were breath taking.
The Restaurant itself is exceptional in terms of food , service and value for money.
The menu offers real choice but all dishes have one thing in common and that is "full on"flavour.
We went as a party of 7 and all agreed that this was some of the best food we had ever tasted
A definite must for us to visit again.
Cost per head was 70Euro including wine

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out of the way but fabulous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This restaurant was a bit out of the way and there is little street life around it for leisurely walks after dinner. However it was easily the best dinner our family had in Rome. The squid and asparagus risotto was fabulous. The desserts were also wonderful; filled with complex yet subtle flavours. Service was impeccable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cndykv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Arco also viewed

 

Been to Antico Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing