We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous”
Review of 'Gusto

'Gusto
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
'Gusto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,418 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: European, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outrageous”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I went for dinner at 'Gusto following the warm recommendation of Eyewitness guidebook (supposedly updated for 2012). My only advice is: stay well away! I've had my share of bad eateries and overpriced tourist traps, but this one is a runner-up for one of the top prizes. The suitably named "Tears of Christ" bottle of Rose was the only decent ingredient in my meal. The Caprese salad had lots of soft, "grainy", tasteless slices of tomato,and instead of basil - a few tired pieces of lettuce (the mozzarrela was OK). Then came pork sausages that were supposed to be seasoned with wild fennel. Never mind the fennel (no trace of which to be found), the sausages were so condensed and so terribly salty that they were practically inedible. The accompanying potatoe wedges were no better. I skipped dessert and coffee, which apparently didn't help much with the bill - 53 Euro, including 15% for the perfunctory and graceless service. Avoid!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hed1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    995
    704
    479
    460
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
1 review
“Good food but surprised by the forced Tip!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went today at Gusto. We really enjoyed the place and the food but i was honestly surprised by the forced tip when receiving the bill (10 euros for a total of 70 euros). Don't hesitate to complain about it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place for lunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Right in the middle of the center, next to the beautiful Ara Pacis museum, we stopped here for lunch and weren't dissapointed. It was full of chic Italian women and smart Italian businessmen on lunch break. The food was good, fresh and lots of selections. It's not 'typical' Italian, maybe more modern italian fare.
The service left a little to be desired, but we thought it was most likely because the servers were so busy.
Definitely reccommend for a stop if you're in the center.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trendy hot spot for Pizza”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of a number of related restaurants in same building/block. The place was bustling and had a lot of energy. Mostly full of locals.

The pizza was very good. Not our best in Rome but near the top. Definitely go for the pizza - didnt have great luck with a chicken dish...

We would definitely return here for pizza.

Helpful?
1 Thank RolandPark
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Awesome terrasse in the summer”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent a week in Rome and ate there twice. Both times with a large group, and the service was always good. Food was great, charcuterie plates, pastas, crab cakes. I loved the terrasse at night! Such a great ambiance. You really feel like you're in Italy! I am for sure going back there when I go back to Rome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'Gusto also viewed

 

Been to 'Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing