We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of Okapi Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Okapi Rooms
Ranked #160 of 1,170 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Okapi Rooms for 5 nights and loved it. The location was great, the metro was really close by which meant everything was easily accessible, although if you dont mind walking most things are close enough. The rooms are cleaned daily and everything is spotless. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The bathroom was small, but this is expected in Italy, but it was clean so that was all that mattered. The wireless internet at reception was also handy and the staff were friendly. If not a tiny bit overpriced, a great midrange hotel. I would defintately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HayleyM_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

Great hotel in a good location. Beds are comfortable, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivesinN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

This is a little hotel with a whole lot of charm! Our stay at Okapi Rooms was a wonderful experience. We wanted a small hotel in the heart of of Rome. The hotel is located within a brief walk of Poppolo Piazza. Just 2 doors down from the hotel are several exceptional restaurants and smaller eating places, amongst many shops. You can walk everywhere (and, I mean everywhere, or you can catch a taxi on the piazza) from the hotel including Trevi fountain, the Spanish Steps, and many many fine shops. The rooms are exceptionally clean, everything is fresh including the sheets, towels, comfortors. The rooms are of good size. We had a junior size room - double bed with a twin. The entire hotel is very beautifully decorated. There is no TV - who needs a TV, you are in ROME! No hairdryers or irons in the rooms, just ask at the front desk and they will give you whatever you need. The staff all speak English and are all very kind. This is not a luxury hotel. If you want to feel like a Roman in the heart of ancient Rome, this is the place for you. The rates are extremely reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Ask for a room with a balcony and you will be pleasantly surprised! I do not hestitate in giving this little hotel the very best review possible.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keukamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Okapi Rooms are a budget hotel which are located just off the Piazza del Popolo at the Start of the Tridente.

The rooms were easy to find from Termini by simply taking the Metro to Flamini and walking about 3 minutes from the Piazza. While near a busy Piazza, the rooms themselves were quietly located on a side road. While some sites were 20-30 minutes away, it was nice to be able to have the choice to always walk. Of course Via Del Corso, Spanish Steps, and Trevi fountain were only a 5 minute walk.

The rooms themselves are very small but very clean as well. While temperature was not an issue during our stay, an air conditioning system is available. Beware though the air coming through it smells a bit stale at time when we used it.

Staff were always available to buzz us in and to answer any questions that we had. They were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank alcibiades12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed 4 nights in the Okapi Rooms.
The place was newly remodeled, and like all Italian rooms, smaller than American rooms. There were a few quirks about the place, like you have to use a plastic tag to get your power (and A/C on) and if you have to leave the room to go out, off goes the power and A/C. It is OK during the day, but in the evening, it is nice to come back to a cool room. So, we were able to pry off the plastic tag, and use it in the evening, so the rooms was cool.
There is a lift in the place, small like most in Italy, but do the stairs, really cool. Like a lighthouse!
The rooms are on a quiet street, and our room had a private balcony and garden. The smells coming from the surrounding homes was great in the evening!
We would stay again, as it was close to the metro and away from the drone of downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rvrpaddlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed in the Okapi Rooms for a week in June and found it excellent. Their website gave very clear instructions about how to get there and, even though we checked in quite late, there was a manned reception desk with a really friendly welcome (although, we had warned them we would be late so maybe that helped!). Our room was spotless and as we had asked for a double room with two twin beds it was furnished with a double and a very substantial, and comfortable, single bed.
The rooms are not very big and we had no view as we were at the rear of the property - this was in no way a problem as we had not gone to Rome to sit in our hotel room! It may not be a hotel which would suit a business traveller who needs to use the room for wind-down purposes;- there is no tv in the rooms nor a mini-bar, nor facilities for making tea and coffee. They don't serve breakfast either. What they do is provide a perfect base for the tourist whose main aim is to be out and about soaking up the atmosphere.
Breakfast is not a problem as there are a host of cafes nearby, ditto restaurants for evening meals. Getting around from there couldn't be easier as the hotel is within easy reach of the metro (station Flaminio/Piazza del Popolo) and the 117 bus, which goes down to the Colisseum and beyond, leaves from just around the corner. The bathroom is small and functional, beautifully clean and, in our experience, there was loads of hot water. Each room has a safe and when we had problems with ours the staff were able to sort it out quickly and efficiently - and were scrupulous about getting us to change the number to a different one once they had left the room!
The beds were made and the floors swept and the bathroom cleaned every day. Clean towels only arrived every 2nd day but in this day and age of carbon footprints etc we rather approved of that.
The hotel itself is on a very quiet road - a godsend in Rome, however, the walls between rooms are quite thin. As it is not the kind of hotel to attract the raucous partygoing guest this wasn't too much of a problem and, after all, they do sell earplugs in the airport if you feel you will be particularly sensitive.
The staff were lovely, their level of English is excellent and they were without fail cheerful, friendly and helpful - they booked tickets for us in galleries, helped with directions and minded our cases after we checked out on the day we left. I have no problem about recommending this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Originally we were supposed to be staying at the Panda hotel (108 euro a night), but they hadn't booked our reservation. I could have died! Anywho, the guy on the desk said he would send us to the Okapi which was 300m from Panda and would upgrade our rooms (180euro a night if you wanted this room) to one with a balcony and FREE air con (6 euro a day usually)

The room was really nice and very basic. No TV, so if you're planning on wanting to watch some Italian TV - you can't! However it had a radio & we found station 105 to be the best! The bathroom that we had was down 3 steps (it scared me at first, reminded me of a dungeon type) but it was nice. Had a shower and a bidet. The only mirror in the room is in the bathroom, bit of a squeeze to fit 2 people in. There is also a safe that was easy to use, we used it to keep our passports and taxi money in there. Also there is a wardrobe, its tiny however, but we hung our "best" clothes in there. The balcony is decent, no table or chairs, it had a load of plants & flowers on it as well as a nice statue of a woman. We had a view of another hotel across the road but we generally watched the people pass by down below.

The staff were SO nice, we had no trouble with them. I respect them so much for there efforts at speaking English, it must be hard! We had asked the guy on the desk (the 1 from Panda- he worked at both) to book us a tour to the Vatican for the next morning & he did bless him. They are very helpful and i would definately stay there again.

As for the location, we managed to walk to the Spanish steps, the Trevi Fountain, McDonalds (yes they have one) a spar shop that was near trevi fountain & the Chanel & Mac shop!!! The hotel is literally a 30 second walk from the square-if you want to call it that, it had 2 churches side by side and a fountain in the centre. There are 3 roads that go down the sides of the churches that take you to different areas.

Word of advice- Italians are crazy drivers & a lot of them drive scooters as the roads are so narrow! They rarely stop for you so just watch out for them!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauryn4u2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#608 of 1,271 in Rome
454 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#158 of 1,271 in Rome
489 reviews
The Bricks Rome
#143 of 1,170 in Rome
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,170 in Rome
246 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#15 of 1,170 in Rome
1,025 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okapi Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okapi Rooms

Address: Via della Penna 57, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 1,170 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Okapi Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okapi Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing