We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harry Potter's Room”
Review of Okapi Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okapi Rooms
Ranked #138 of 1,070 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Harry Potter's Room”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is significantly cheaper than many others and in terms of value, it is actually quite good. Being a boutique hotel there is not a lot of noise from fellow travelers or millions of "extras" which bump up the price but generally on holidays I'm too busy to utilise.

The hotel is in a great location, an easy walk to the Spanish steps, metro station and a suite of quality restaurants on the doorstep you could do far worse than to stay in this beautiful quaint neighbourhood.

We were on the top floor and our room certainly had character. The furnishings were basic (bedside table, CRT tv, 2 beds) but the room was large and the built in ledges under the large windows made for the easy storing of bags and clothes. The room had beautiful large windows which we could open out somewhat which filled our room with natural light during the day. At night however the placement and strength of lights was hard to work with.

I should disclaim however that "character" translates roughly to a sloping roof, a wardrobe of about hip high, a bathroom that you had to be careful not to stand too quickly off the toilet or else you might knock yourself out on roof. We loved the quirkiness though, and more than once referred to it as our room under the stairs. The bathroom was impossibly small- which was bizarre compared to the room size.

Our stay was perfectly adequate. The staff were disinterested but we had so little to do with them it was not an issue. The hotel is in a perfect location to come and go as you please and we did just that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell_81_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    66
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
49
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just off the Piaza di Popolo, this hotel was perfect for our 5-day trip to Rome. Small rooms, but in Rome you don't spend much time in the room so this was not an issue. Around the hotel there are many places to eat and shop, and we found it was a perfect spot to walk to all the tourist attractions. Public transport isn't great in Rome, so being within walking distance was great. Walking to Trastevere was a bit far, but do-able. With such expensive prices for accomodation in Rome, we found this was excellent quality for the price we paid. Clean and comfortable, and even nicely decorated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

ROOMS: Clean, comfortable beds, comfortable sized room
BATHROOM: Very small ie: You have to sit on the toilet sideways to fit around the sink that extends over the toilet? weird design. And the shower is tiny too. One person in the bathroom at a time.
LOCATION: Absolutely Perfect location! You can walk to all the sights, and the metro is about a 5 min walk. The area the Hotel is in, is very safe, I was happy to walk the streets on my own.
SERVICE: Only found one guy that was rude, unhelpful and not accommodating. however everyone else was really lovely.

Overall, We are not fussy travellers and we were out sight seeing everyday, so really just needed a place to sleep... So for the Location, Price and the rooms... this place was perfect for us.

However, if you are wanting something with the 'frills' and lots of space etc... maybe look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure to Request a high floor. We stayed on the first floor&were woken up multiple times to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bemami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

It is excellently situated - very easy to get to by metro, in the historical center of city, 100 metres from piazza del poppolo. Rooms are tiny, but clean and well equipped, staff very friendly. They gave us breakfast voucher for the next door bar - it cost 4 euros and was very tasty. One minor flaw - wi-fi signal was quite weak, but they permitted us to use their computer to chek-in for our flight:-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lokated in an atmosphere side street of Via Di Ripetta and mere steps from Piazza del Poppolo (my favourite one in Rome), Okapi Rooms offers accomodation in excellent prices. The rooms are rather small but the beds are surprisingly comfortable! No amenities in the bathrooms.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandrospassalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at the okapi rooms for nearly 10 nights and we loved the location of the hotel. our rooms ( we changed two rooms) were small but very clean and comfortable. With lovely and helpful staff. We definitely recommend this lovely lodge at the heart of Rome and we hope that they add

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam-nab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Located (for me) at the north border of the sightseeing region of Rome. Most of the must see places in Rome are within walking distance. A safe and relatively quiet location. Yet, one should keep the expectations limited for this hotel. In fact it is not a hotel but simply rooms with bed and bathroom. But all were clean. For the ones that want to spend most of their time outside the hotel (or room) this place is a good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamerSngn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#594 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#219 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Locarno Rome
Hotel Locarno Rome
#609 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Rifugio degli Artisti
Rifugio degli Artisti
#2,171 of 3,621 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Campo Marzio
Tridente Rooms
Tridente Rooms
#455 of 1,070 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Trevi
Daphne Trevi
Daphne Trevi
#188 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okapi Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okapi Rooms

Property: Okapi Rooms
Address: Via della Penna 57, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,070 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Okapi Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okapi Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing