We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Modern House

Modern House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Modern House
Ranked #3,026 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
bercellona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a very good stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

we Stay very well in this bed and breakfast, located in the center of city. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Prize very interesting for our budget.
I reccomend it absolutely!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bernard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atibaia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

My husband and I had a great time in Rome at this really nice Bed and Braekfast, where we felt like home, our room was really nice, there's a supermarket right next to it, internet right next door, the kitchen where we have breakfast is very nice and big, and we could use the fridge, so not only we don't pay much to stay there we can even have some snacks and save some money too.


The staff is very kind, helpfull and friendly, they come every day to serve breakfast, clean and check if everything is all right!

The location is really good, the subway station is a hundred meters away, we could walk to Coloseum in about ten minutes and Termini station too. The neighborhood is pretty safe and you can find everything you need near by!

Well we are happy that we found Modren House and we can't wait to be back again!

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MariAtibaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atibaia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

My husband and I had a lovely time at Modern House in Rome, our room was very nice, the staff very helpfull, friendly and kind. The apartment is big,clean, colourful and very well organized, we met other guests and had really nice time with them at breakfast time.
It's very well located, near to the subway station and from the city center (only one stop from Termini station!), well we can't wait to have the oportunity to comeback!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MariAtibaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Modern House is an ok place to stay in Rome, considering hotel prices there. It's very small, and owned by people who seem to own several other small b&b's. It's so small that I couldn't find any reviews of it before I left - so here is the deal:

Location: It's not right in the major tourist areas, but it is just around the corner from a metro stop (Vittorio Emanuele, on the red line) and a lot of bus lines. On the plus side, the neighbourhood feels pretty safe, and there's internet next door and a supermarket down the street. You can walk to the Colluseum in about ten minutes, or to the pantheon in 20.

Rooms: the rooms are tiny, and do not have air conditioning or television. They face out onto the courtyard of an apartment building and you can hear everything going on in the other apartments if the windows are open. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom was a little gross and the shower was difficult to use.

Staff: the people who run the place are there only for an hour in the morning to clean and set up breakfast, so there is nobody to ask questions to. When you do talk to them, they are friendly enough.

Value: I paid 80 euros a night in the peak-season for a double room with a shared bathroom. I would not have paid that much for a place like that anywhere else, but for Rome it was a bargain.

So overall it was ok. Not great, but not terrible either.

  • Liked — price, as compared with other places in Rome
  • Disliked — hearing every television or radio playing in the apartments sharing a courtyard with our room all night
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,592 of 3,762 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,465 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#369 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#284 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern House

Property: Modern House
Address: Via Buonarroti 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,026 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern House is characterized by its big spaces, essential furnishing and its lively colors; double, triple and quadruple rooms available to satisfy our guests' budget and comfort. We have different lodging wolutions for cost and services through which we try to satisfy all of your needs. Our guests have the choice of the b&b formula or the holiday home, by renting the entire apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Modern House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing