We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”
Review of Hotel Royal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal House
Ranked #694 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed on October 3.Our room is large and clean.It has view of Colosseo and Ludus magnus,it's very beautiful!
From the stage of the reservation,Catia was kind.Though I made a change of reservation... Thank you.
We will stay again.
イヤだったのは、蝿がたくさんいることです。場所がら仕方ないのかもしれませんが、朝食で使用するレストランはもちろんのこと、部屋にまで2匹入ってきました…。最近の日本では、ありえないですよね。

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kei-hassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Royal House is a very small hotel with only 6 rooms. We were fortunate enough to get a room at the front facing the Colosseum. The room was complete with everything you could need, but with a view like that....who needs anything else?! The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Royal house for one night before we started our Mediterranean cruise. We took the train/metro from the airport to the hotel. There is a metro stop a few feet from the hotel across from the Colosseum which made getting around easy. We dropped off our bags since we arrived before check in and Catia at the front desk was very nice and helpful. When we returned to check in we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room had an amazing view of the Colosseum and the room was larger than we expected. The room was very clean and had two windows. One window was the view of the colosseum and the other window was a view of some ruins. Keep in mind that there is a restaurant downstairs. You get a discount if you eat there if you are staying at the hotel. The food was ok... a little over priced but that's expected for the location. There are a bunch if restaurants and bars around the area that became busy with the younger crowds at night. Breakfast is included with your stay and that was very good. They gave you a nice selection of items. Bread, fruit, juice, coffee, sliced meats. Also, the hotel offers free wifi. We were only able to get it to work while at breakfast the morning that we checked out. Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would stay there again if I ever went back to Rome. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MrsRazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were taken aback by the location and the view from our room. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms newly updated. Service was rather slow but the staff were friendly nevertheless. Unfortunately there is no noise filter and the bar was noisy and filtered onto the street to almost 3am. Luckily we were too tired to let it stop us falling asleep. So bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights during our 4 nights in Rome. We decided on this location as we wanted to see the colosseum during our stay and our other 2 nights were near the Vatican. Fortunately this was the 2nd hotel of our time here as our 1st hotel was a huge disappointment! The room we stayed in was very big with a very good bathroom area. We also had a fantastic view of the colosseum from our window. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them. They allowed us to check in early although we arrived hours before the check in time. When we checked out they offered us to take a breakfast pack up as we didn't have time to stay. The breakfast was very simple but this didn't bother us. Food on an evening was good quality in thr restaurant and we met some great people staying at the hotel. We didn't hear any noise from our room although there are some rooms that look over late night bars so could potentially keep you awake. We really enjoyed our time here although we would stay somewhere more centrally positioned in Rome now as the transport systems are so easy to use. We stayed here in August 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah87-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

View and location are wonderful. Manager was very fair and friendly. However, as the three of us are in our 50's- the noise of the late night disco (that stopped playing at 2:00 AM), the marble pillows and the lack of air conditioning made it very difficult to sleep. We checked out the next day (although we had booked for 3 nights) and were given a full refund for the unused days. Truly appreciated! I am sure that if we were younger, this would have been THE place to stay. It just wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the view of the coliseum. This is terribly noisy and not worth the view...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tintagel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fabulous location for exploring Rome. Very friendly and helpful staff. Typical European breakfast but plenty of it and a good choice. Rooms were clean and of typical Italian style. Beds comfortable. I would take my own kettle next time as no tea or coffee making facilities. A great hotel, I would happily book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#617 of 1,267 in Rome
62 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#562 of 1,267 in Rome
221 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#260 of 1,267 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
#2,702 of 3,710 in Rome
19 reviews
Monti
Imperial Rooms
Imperial Rooms
#1,244 of 3,710 in Rome
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal House

Address: Piazza del Colosseo n. 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #694 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $125 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel where you can watch the Colosseum from your bedroom window while you sleep this is it, you cant get any closer to the Colosseum from your bed than you Can with us. We also offer a restaurant which has a terrace facing the Colosseum, so you can dine in front of the Colosseum day and night, by the way, the Colosseum is fantastic by night which gives a very romantic atmosphere while you enjoy our extensive wine list and Italian menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing