We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for a family trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residenza Domizia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Domizia
Ranked #558 of 1,087 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a family trip”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I travel to Rome often (> 1/month) for business. This time I was with my family for a leisure trip and we opted for a different accommodation. We stayed at Residenza Domizia (BB) which is as close as you can get to Piazza Navona. Room was large (we are three with a 15 years old boy), the bathroom new and comfortable. With such a nice location you can enjoy the town and rest whenever you need. A few yards from Castel Sant'Angelo it also provides tourists with a chance to visit areas usually untouched (like Prati) by tourists. You have breakfast in one small bar nearby. It is also a nice experience as you will get closer to the real life of real Romans. While I recommend for family it could also be good for business traveller. I will try myself soon. Only backdrop: it is not easy to find a room..but it is worth giving a try!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfrompisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    81
    38
    17
    23
See reviews for
37
100
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, España
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked Residenza Domizia and confirmed I was coming a week beforehand. It is basically more like a pension than a hotel but clean and in a great location. We arrived and they gave us directions to the other residenza they were going to put us in. This other residenza was actually in an even better location, right in front of Saint Michael's Castle and overlooking the river but we still had to find it and I have to say that if I had just arrived in Rome after a long haul flight I would be less than amused at being sent on somewhere else.
The room was lovely - clean with a nice big bed and spotless bathroom although a little on the chilly side, However, we were happy. What annoyed us a little was when we asked if the receptionist would book a taxi (she was never there, we saw her once the whole time we were there) and she suddenly came up with an extra tax we had to pay - "nothing to do with the hotel, down to Rome tax" all in Italian and miming. Surely this should have been included in the price? It could even have been for her for all we knew. Very weird and I think that despite the great location, there are better places to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alm99Valencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the major attractions, especially those that you will need to cover if you are in Rome for just 2-3 days. Every place is at a walking distance and is well-connected by bus to Colloseum/Roman Forum. We even walked to the Vatican City from here. Breakfast is included but it's just a croissant, juice and a cup of coffee. But that's something we need to get used to about breakfasts in Italy!
More about the hotel - rooms are very clean and functional. We had some issues with the AC in our room, but otherwise, everything was perfect. The rooms were cleaned everyday and we had hot water everyday. The location also offers a tonne of choices for eating. You can find both restaurants, cafes, pizzerias, etc around this place and it's a very safe locality to walk through even during late hours. The building does have an elevator, so moving luggage is relatively easy.
On the whole, this is a good value-for-money place in the perfect location in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNKSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We were afraid that the staff will not be able to communicate with us as most people there seems to only speak Italian. But we were very surprised that Nani explained everything to us in English. She gave us very good information on how to get around Rome, very helpful with our rooms, and was always ready to help/answer questions. She made us feel welcome. We loved our stay and will recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidikya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This B&B type residence is very nice. Perfect location if you are planning to stay on Gregoriana Street, just above the Piazza Di Spagna - becareful this Residence has 3 locations in Rome. The personal is kind and attentive. The rooms are perfect, nice and clean. The only downside, breakfast is served in a small Café nearby. You only get 1 coffee, 1 orange juice and 1 croissant. This is not a full breakfast. Nevertheless, I will recommend anyone to go there. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadgad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked one night in Rome in this hotel mainly because of its location near Piazza Navona. The night we got there (Coronari 14) we were told several different versions of why there were no rooms available, bottom line that we needed to go to another location "near by". We were so angry and frustrated because it was 8 pm and we had booked 3 months in advance. The concierge called the manager/owner Tomasso, and Tomasso basically said there was nothing else for him to do, either we went to his other location or we could find another place to stay. We were arguing that he could not do this to us on a Saturday night in Rome... but Tomasso was relentless and basically yelled at us on the phone that HE DID NOT NEED GUEST LIKE US... TO LEAVE HIS PLACE!!! We were in total shock to be treated like this, especially after we had had some communication via email that day with him since it was Compulsory to email the hotel the time of arrival. As a foreigner its very difficult to be communicating times of arrival when you don’t even have internet access 24/7… however, we did tell him we would be there at 8 pm and we were never told that it would be in another location. Basically, their scheme is to get you to book the place near Piazza Navona and then send you somewhere else. Once Tomasso treated us like second class citizens we lost our temper and told him he could not treat us like that, he said pretty much he could do what ever he wanted and that he wanted us OUT of his hotel as we were not welcomed. We were out on the street at 8:30 pm on a Saturday night in Rome looking for a place where we would not feel abused and mistreated and mislead. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE… its not worth it. I called hotels.com once I came back from my trip and they promised they would delist them from the website.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yovis_Bet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Best Kept Secret in Rome
It was an unexpected surprise as to the quality of the staff and this hotel located in the best spot while traveling in Rome Italy. The airlines lost out luggage for four days and the staff worked tirelessly to help us work with the airlines to try and resolve this problem. Both Tomas and Vito were worth every cent spent on our room. The location and price was perfect. The hotel is located in a quite area but just a few feet from the heart of Roam. The room was pristine and provided the necessities for the world traveler. Important papers were unfortunately left behind and the staff went and retrieved them immediately at a local shop and held them until we returned to pick them up. The service was unmatched to other great hotels. Enjoy and know you are in good hands while staying at this hotel.
Glenna Randolph

Room Tip: Ask the staff to assist you and they will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Nova Domizia
Nova Domizia
#2,593 of 3,752 in Rome
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponte
Domizia Sancti Angeli
Domizia Sancti Angeli
#2,414 of 3,752 in Rome
42 reviews
Trevi
Residenza Domiziano
Residenza Domiziano
#385 of 3,752 in Rome
215 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#232 of 3,752 in Rome
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Domizia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Domizia

Property: Residenza Domizia
Address: Via Dei Coronari 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 1,087 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Domizia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Domizia is located in an ancient building of 1700, modernly restructured, just in the heart of Rome. A few steps from important places, with recognized historical, artistic and political importance such as the parliament of the Italian Republic, Navona square, via del Corso, the Pantheon, the Trevi's fountain, the Spanish steps and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Domizia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Domizia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing