We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A great place to lay your head"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Domizia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza Domizia
Ranked #532 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Denton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"A great place to lay your head"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Of all the places to stay in Rome, we picked this one. And we couldn't have been more satisfied. The location is excellent. All the major sites are within a 20-30 minute walk. The Piazza Navona is 3 minutes away and just around the corner is 2 of the best restaurants and a wonderful wine bar. One of the main reasons our stay was so great is Tommaso Scotto di Luzio. He and his staff were very accomodating and made us feel welcome immediately. Tommaso is very knowledgeable, professional, and one of the nicest people we met during our stay. He always steered us in the right direction and helped us rearrange our plans when we decided to stay a couple of extra days. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the size was perfect for the two of us.The Rezidenza Domizia is where we'll stay next time we visit Rome. Just ask for Tommaso. He'll make you feel "right at home."

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    81
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
37
100
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa fe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

here if you show up after 7 pm there is no staff, so other guests have to be the receptionists and concierge, when it is hot the air conditioning does not work, if there is a fire the guests get cooked first
the staff that is here is mono-lingual (italian only and of no help)

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelersantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Edmonton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Excellent location just one block off of Piazza Navona, and close to many other attractions, like the Vatican and Trevi Fountain. Lots of tratorrias and shopping in the area. There are 3 locations for this residence. Two are on Via Dei Coronari and the excellent location, the other is about a kilometer away. The first room we had was small and the air conditioning did not work. There reception is in one of the locations on Coronari, but is only there during daytime business hours, so our first night was very hot and sticky in Rome. We moved across to the other location, which had a lift and much bigger rooms. Our second room also had a ceiling fan, which really helped to cool it down. There was no view from any of the rooms and as others have said, breakfast was a coupon for a croissant and coffee down the road. For three days the reception staff were not really helpful, but on the fourth day he was very helpful booking us tickets to the Vatican online and printing it out for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 36 Via Dei Cororani. The location with the lift and bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyalberta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, TN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

This small hotel offers fairly large rooms in the heart of the historic district of Rome, its location made it a wonderful fit for us since we love to walk whenever possible. We were just off the Piazza Navona and minutes away from the Pantheon and the Forum and the Colosseum. Our concierge, Thomas was most helpful in booking sight seeing excursions for us in and out of the city. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel has a great location, but it is definitely NOT a bed and breakfast. The just gave us a coupon that we could use to get a croissant and expresso at a cafe down the street (it only cost 2 Euro to buy). And for half of our stay, we didn't even get that because the cafe was closed for the weekend and a holiday - so we got a plastic-wrapped croissant and instant coffee left in our room. They also won't give you an iron, and instead offer laundry at 4 Euro per shirt.

Despite feeling let down from the inaccurate description on the site, the room itself was clean and decent sized for a major city, and our stay was comfortable. If you're looking for a hotel in the heart of Rome, this is a reasonable option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERTBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Recently returned from a trip to Rome & stayed in Residenza Domizia. First they have more than one location and after having checked out the first location on Via dei Coronari we were leery...the entry way was awful,holes in the walls, dirty. Once in the B&B it was nice, the location was nearer to Piazza Navona and located on a quiet street. When we went to check in a week later we were told we would be staying at their "sister" location about 1/2 mile away. This was located directly across the street from Santagelo Castle, a ten minute walk from Vatican City. The location was great, the B&B was new, clean, large room by Rome standards but located on a very busy street. If noise is a factor for you, you will not be happy here, we are city people and it bothered us... Also the breakfast that was included consisted of a cappucino & a croissant at the restaurant located next door to the B&B, it didn't quite measure up to the other B&B's we had stayed in before this one. The hotel staff were very nice but it did not make up for what was lacking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Pros

Excellent location, 5- 10min walk to Vatican/Piazza Navona/Pantheon. Lot of good restaurants nearby - excellent atmosphere near the hotel in the evening with lot of bars/dining option.

Excellent Condition of the room and newly renovated. Room size more than average with 32inch LCD but no english channel. Has bar fridge and tea/coffee kettle.

Aircon was very good and you badly need it as the building is next to a main street which has lot of traffic throughout the nice. So cant really open your window.

Newly renovated bathroom with hair dryer and bath tub. Little bit cramped as the bathroom was beneath a flight of stairs. All new high quality stuff.

Free wi fi is avlble

Cons

Arrived at the hotel reception and were made to move to the other building. We had to walk with our luggage good 800 - 1000m. Not really a great experience as were coming from Paris and were tired by the time we arrived in Rome.

Breakfast was sour point of our stay. We were promised continental breakfast in the booking. However, the breakfast incl a coupon to nearby cafe for coffee and croissant which was otherwise available as a combo for Euro 2 in the cafe. A mini croissant and coffee doesnt cuts for a breakfast especially when in your mind you are paying for it in the price of the hotel. Best to secure a room with no breakfast.

No reception in the building where we were made to stay. Had to check something and had trouble making them understand as their english is limited.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinsdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Nova Domizia
Nova Domizia
#2,578 of 3,736 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Arco della Pace
Relais Arco della Pace
#1,470 of 3,736 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#206 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Trevi
Residenza Domiziano
Residenza Domiziano
#383 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Domizia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Domizia

Property: Residenza Domizia
Address: Via Dei Coronari 14, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Domizia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Domizia is located in an ancient building of 1700, modernly restructured, just in the heart of Rome. A few steps from important places, with recognized historical, artistic and political importance such as the parliament of the Italian Republic, Navona square, via del Corso, the Pantheon, the Trevi's fountain, the Spanish steps and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Domizia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Domizia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing