We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok and excellent loaction” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orange Hotel
Ranked #635 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok and excellent loaction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel mid July for five nights. To be honest I thought the price was fair for a central hotel, in summer, in a very busy and wonderful city. I didn't pay too much attention to the star rating. I had no trouble with the staff and everyone was helpful, welcoming and friendly. We did not have breakfast here, as it was much easier to grab something from one of the many coffee shops, on the way out to sight see. We had the top floor room with the small outside terrace, it was lovely light and breezy. Yes the rooms are small, but this was totally expected, as most European city centre hotels save space. To be honest we were out so much seeing Rome and its amazing sights we used the room to wash and sleep. I have travelled all over and stayed in many hostels and this hotel was far nicer than any I have stayed in, so it is unfair to compare it to one, unless others have stayed in some very plush hostels.
A friend of mine was staying in the much more expensive Raddison Blu hotel at the same time near the train station, this hotel was lovely, with excellent service and rooftop pool etc, however she outwardly said she would prefer to have been in the Orange Hotel, with its quirky atmosphere and absolutely excellent location. Overall I would give this hotel an 'ok' rating, it wasn't the best, but nor was it the worst. The location by the Vatican and the subway made exploring Rome a pleasure (as did the air-con in 34 degree Roman heat).

Room Tip: Top floor room was lovely, less dark than rooms on other floors, with its own little outside space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    180
    106
    56
    40
See reviews for
67
265
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I can deal with a tacky hotel for a good price, as long as the room is clean and the service is respectable. HOWEVER, the service was TERRIBLE. If you are paying full price GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. There are many hotels in Rome, avoid paying a four star price for a two star hotel at best. If you booked through Expedia or a site like that BE CAREFUL. We booked with a free breakfast included and the Orange Hotel refused to give us what we paid for. When we showed the front desk our printed out confirmation of this, they flat out said too bad and no. Which was rather irritating.

The other services are also quite bad. We paid to get an Internet connection and the quality was just awful and didn't work at all. At every turn the service is blatanly rude. The only exception to this was one employee by the name of Beatrice.

If you simply want a bed and safety consider this hotel but only for rock bottom prices, if not go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Location excellent, breakfast served on the roof decent basics. front desk staff were sweet and helpful. 5 minute walk to Vatican, 30 min walk to colosseum, 15 min to Trevi/Pantheon. When we checked in the cheap ikea like shaving mirror was lose from its base on the bathroom wall, the soap dispenser in shower was the kind you see in public bathroom (metal with push dispenser) it swing open but the inside plastic box was open so we just dipped our fingers into it, TV had issues with power cords. I
Guess the cleaning staff gets 1 star for not checking these details for the owner. Because the the hotel was more about serving its purpose with location and price we did not sweat these minor things. THE DOWNSIDE: the cheap shaving mirror fell when moved it to the side it fell broke and CHARGED us 60Euro. So make sure you tell them if anything is on the verge of falling apart as soon as you check in, it's decor is very much on the ikea budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Orange Hotel. The location was great, right by the Vatican so only a 20 min or so walk into the centre of Rome. The hotel is ok, it's not terrible, it's very safe, the staff were fine but it's very very basic. We booked this hotel as we really liked the idea of a rooftop terrace ... The terrace was only available for breakfast (if u paid for brekkie), you aren't allowed up there any other time or just to have a drink as it's owned by a separate company to the hotel & theres a very stroppy girl guarding the area who will send you straight back down if you venture up! The breakfast was terrible so we cancelled it after the first day. Also we had pre paid for breakfast but just fyi every day you have to go downstairs to reception to get a ticket then go back upstairs to the roof before you are allowed to eat anything - again it's because the roof & breakfast are arranged separately to the hotel.

The rooms are an ok size for a city centre but because they are going for a trendy boutique kinda look the rooms are sooo dark! It's really hard to do your make up! So for male business travellers - yes the hotel is fine! For couples or girly trips - no! We had a big jacuzzi bath & that was lovely! But would have really liked a hook to put the shower on as it was a nightmare to wash long hair in a bath. Whether we would stay here again or not would entirely depend on the price tbh. For £50 - £60 a night it would be fine. We paid just over £100 a night & it was a lot for a dark room to be honest! There isn't anywhere you can sit in the sun & get a drink & you have to pay for any tiny extra (eg. wifi - it's not even available in the communal areas without paying).

Last thing - there r NO toiletries whatsoever in the rooms ... no mini shampoo, conditioner, bar of soap so bring EVERYTHING you need!! Oh & the hair dryer - being your own! It's a very weird retro type one but it burns your hands when it gets hot & doesn't work very well!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the mouldy smell in the room, to the terrible service at breakfast, I would NOT recommend this 'hotel'. Zero customer service from the lady serving at breakfast, who was more concerned with finishing her shift. The two members of staff on the Front Desk were helpful with directions, but this did not make up for the overall bad experience! I would have been happier in a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Helen I’ve carefully read your review and I’m sorry you’d this bad feeling about the Hotel due to the Restaurant lack of service, which doesn’t mean we are more like an hostel or you’ll be happier in an hostel, no? It seems more a review you can put on the restaurant profile, then ours. Anyway, if you’d like to check on “Trattoria sul tetto” restaurant profile you’ll find all good reviews, for this reason we decided to commit the breakfast service to them. Clearly there was a gap and we deeply regret for it, we are investigating the matter and we’ll take the appropriate actions, but we insist you should come back and let us change your opinion with a very special treatment. :)
I’m glad you’ve appreciated the front desk assistance, as we are very focused on customer care and we work for the Hotel, Not for the Restaurant and in fact I’m answering from the hotel, not from the restaurant! :) Please check on our website Unusual page where we advertise the restaurant is IN the hotel and not PROPERTY OF the Hotel.
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Not the same as it was: not even close! I have been coming to the Orange Hotel for many years now and given the recent experience I doubt I'll keep this as my default option in Rome.

Once upon a time staying at the Orange hotel was a delight. The location is fabulous enough (walking distance from Saint Peter) to make up for the loud traffic and lack of noise insulation. The breakfast/roof top staff is what made this last trip a turning point to the worst. Harsh and rude in ways that you will never find in Italy is the only way to describe what we have just experienced. 'Don't you have your coupon?' is what age said instead of 'buongiorno' this morning. 'Coupon??' Nothing was handed out to us when we checked in, breakfast was included, never had to give more than my room number before. I kindly reminded her that and she said 'it doesn't matter, go downstairs and get the breakfast coupon'. Literally! 'If you need to verify would you mind calling the reception instead?' I kindly asked. 'One of you need to go downstairs!' she unapologetically yelled. No please, no apology for the inconvenience just YELLING! We both turned around and started walking 4 flight of stairs. Few minutes later I witnessed the same attitude with others. Lovely swearing at the spilled over sugar bowl too. And then, coupon at hand 'Is it really necessary?' she said when we asked for a cappuccino (also included). Seriously? BTW, I was born and raised in Italy. You can't attribute the rudeness above to language.

To be fair the reception staff was much nicer but starting the day with 30 mins of yelling on the rooftop is not something anybody should experience and even less pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiara_salesmanager, Direttore at Orange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Verely thank you for your review, it’s always sad to read a returning guest review stating “Once upon a time”, but then it’s about the RESTAURANT NOT ABOUT THE HOTEL!
I’m not claiming the responsibility away, as I’m investigating the matter trying to find the gap (suspecting that during the vacation time the usual attendant was out) and I’ll work on the restaurant management to make this NEVER happen again. But maybe it’s more a review to be posted on the restaurant profile then ours!
This said I’ll love to host you back and show you we are the Usual-Unusual hotel if not better!
I’m really glad you find our location fabulous and our staff so nice, please contact me any time you’d like, I’ll arrange special treatment for you.
Sincerely

Lara S. Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent one night at the Orange Hotel. The front desk staff was very nice but that was all the hotel had to offer. The room was very small, and the bathroom was dirty. The room had a strange and awful smell when we first enter. The room safe was located in an awkward place (on the floor of the closet, so you had to get on your hands and knees to get to the safe). The worst part of our stay was the noisy street (you can hear the loud cars all night long... non stop). This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#380 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#506 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#201 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Grand Olympic - Aurum Hotel
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#381 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#190 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel

Property: Orange Hotel
Address: Via Crescenzio 86, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Rome
#295 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Hotel is a hotel located in the center of Rome near the Vatican. The unique design, attention to detail and its proximity to St. Peter's Square and the Vatican City, means this hotel in central Rome is very much appreciated and popular in the capital. The Orange hotel is synonymous with design and comfort. The prime location, comfortable spaces and the presence of all the amenities of a hotel, make your hotel stay a unique and unforgettable experience. Concept Hotel. Beyond Stars. Smart Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing