We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value! Good staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Independence Square
Ranked #1,489 of 3,602 Rome B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value! Good staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found this place on hostel world.com and it got great reviews on there. The location is a 5 min walk from the main termini (main train station) which is super convienient for travellers! And easy to find is you just google map it before hand. There's also a metro station at the termini so that's great too if you get tired and don't want to walk back.

The staff there is great! Really just the one care taker in the morning who serves us the free breakfast that's included in our price. You either get croissants or packaged toast. I'd go for the toast... And you can either get juice or cappuccino. I really enjoyed the cappuccino! It was actually Better than a few other places that I went to... Lol

We had the private bathroom, which was nice cause then we didn't have to share and bring all our stuff back and forth, but it's a separate room,not a connected bathroom. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. It's not a new place so don't expect luxury. The mattress was too soft for my liking... But my husband slept well. I was also trying to get over my jet lag!

If you arrive later in the afternoon or evening, please remember that the owners of the restaurant downstairs, is the same owners as the Inn. You could be ringing that bell for the inn for a long time..., but someone is always at the restaurant so just tell them you're staying at the independence inn and someone will check you in :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Silly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
67
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Hostel is really close to the main station termini and therefore a really good choice if you want to discover rome with buses and the metro. The room was really clean, also were the WC and shower. The breakfast was also pretty good, the owner was very helpful and was always eager to help us, giving us a lot of useful tipps which buses we had to catch and which attractions and museums we had to discover.
All in all, it was a really nice stay in the centre of rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_humanBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is really close to termini station (5min by walk). Host was helpful, give us informations about neighborhood and give us a map of Rome. Also we booked a room with shared bathroom, but get one with private one for the same price. That was nice suprise:)
Room are not big, but really clean. Reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozlanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

tiny double room with tiny bathroom but clean and very near to the Termini Station. small breakfast included (croissants, coffee, tea), quiet despite the street view. decent quality for this price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great choice for cost conscious travellers. We paid about half of what we normally pay at a nearby hotel. The rooms were very basic but very comfortable. For some reason we had to change rooms on our second night. The rooms were quite different in character, as you can see in the photo's. Pino, the host was fantastic. The location is great. A short walk to Termini. Will definitely stay here on my next Roman holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliRob56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We've stayed there for 3 nights, the room was very clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly. The best and breakfast is located less than 5 minutes walk from termini station and nearby all attractions.
I would definitely recommend this B&B if you looking for good budget accommodation. Don't forget to try the restaurant downstairs, they served delicious Italian food for cheap price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeluFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Went to Rome for my 21st birthday with my friends we stayed in here! It was amazing! The Bed and Breakfast clean! And we loved Pino who made the best coffee ever he was really helpful and told us where to visit, the beach he recommended was so beautiful! would recommend this place to everyone! it was quiet at night and safe... Pino if you are reading this we miss you and no one makes coffee like you! Hope to visit again soon! love the English countyside girls (Millie, Jasmine, Danielle and laura) haha xxxxxxxx

P.s Great links to all transport including coach to airport- 5 five minute walk there is also a train station there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#354 of 1,284 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Esquilino
Amoroma Bed & Breakfast
Amoroma Bed & Breakfast
#1,249 of 3,602 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Esquilino
B&B Marcantonio
B&B Marcantonio
#1,298 of 3,602 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bed & Breakfast Tropical
Bed & Breakfast Tropical
#1,097 of 3,602 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Seven Kings Relais
Seven Kings Relais
#453 of 3,602 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#236 of 3,602 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Property: Independence Square
Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,489 of 3,602 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing