We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value! Good staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Independence Square
Ranked #1,504 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value! Good staff!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found this place on hostel world.com and it got great reviews on there. The location is a 5 min walk from the main termini (main train station) which is super convienient for travellers! And easy to find is you just google map it before hand. There's also a metro station at the termini so that's great too if you get tired and don't want to walk back.

The staff there is great! Really just the one care taker in the morning who serves us the free breakfast that's included in our price. You either get croissants or packaged toast. I'd go for the toast... And you can either get juice or cappuccino. I really enjoyed the cappuccino! It was actually Better than a few other places that I went to... Lol

We had the private bathroom, which was nice cause then we didn't have to share and bring all our stuff back and forth, but it's a separate room,not a connected bathroom. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. It's not a new place so don't expect luxury. The mattress was too soft for my liking... But my husband slept well. I was also trying to get over my jet lag!

If you arrive later in the afternoon or evening, please remember that the owners of the restaurant downstairs, is the same owners as the Inn. You could be ringing that bell for the inn for a long time..., but someone is always at the restaurant so just tell them you're staying at the independence inn and someone will check you in :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Silly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    64
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
70
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Hostel is really close to the main station termini and therefore a really good choice if you want to discover rome with buses and the metro. The room was really clean, also were the WC and shower. The breakfast was also pretty good, the owner was very helpful and was always eager to help us, giving us a lot of useful tipps which buses we had to catch and which attractions and museums we had to discover.
All in all, it was a really nice stay in the centre of rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_humanBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is really close to termini station (5min by walk). Host was helpful, give us informations about neighborhood and give us a map of Rome. Also we booked a room with shared bathroom, but get one with private one for the same price. That was nice suprise:)
Room are not big, but really clean. Reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozlanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

tiny double room with tiny bathroom but clean and very near to the Termini Station. small breakfast included (croissants, coffee, tea), quiet despite the street view. decent quality for this price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great choice for cost conscious travellers. We paid about half of what we normally pay at a nearby hotel. The rooms were very basic but very comfortable. For some reason we had to change rooms on our second night. The rooms were quite different in character, as you can see in the photo's. Pino, the host was fantastic. The location is great. A short walk to Termini. Will definitely stay here on my next Roman holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliRob56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We've stayed there for 3 nights, the room was very clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly. The best and breakfast is located less than 5 minutes walk from termini station and nearby all attractions.
I would definitely recommend this B&B if you looking for good budget accommodation. Don't forget to try the restaurant downstairs, they served delicious Italian food for cheap price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeluFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Went to Rome for my 21st birthday with my friends we stayed in here! It was amazing! The Bed and Breakfast clean! And we loved Pino who made the best coffee ever he was really helpful and told us where to visit, the beach he recommended was so beautiful! would recommend this place to everyone! it was quiet at night and safe... Pino if you are reading this we miss you and no one makes coffee like you! Hope to visit again soon! love the English countyside girls (Millie, Jasmine, Danielle and laura) haha xxxxxxxx

P.s Great links to all transport including coach to airport- 5 five minute walk there is also a train station there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,256 in Rome
289 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Giustiniani
Residenza Giustiniani
#2,699 of 3,643 in Rome
15 reviews
Esquilino
Stella's House
Stella's House
#2,544 of 3,643 in Rome
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#323 of 3,643 in Rome
281 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B 2012
B&B 2012
#573 of 3,643 in Rome
162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Bed and Colors
Bed and Colors
#446 of 3,643 in Rome
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Property: Independence Square
Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,504 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Independence Square 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing