We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value! Good staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Independence Square
Ranked #1,699 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found this place on hostel world.com and it got great reviews on there. The location is a 5 min walk from the main termini (main train station) which is super convienient for travellers! And easy to find is you just google map it before hand. There's also a metro station at the termini so that's great too if you get tired and don't want to walk back.

The staff there is great! Really just the one care taker in the morning who serves us the free breakfast that's included in our price. You either get croissants or packaged toast. I'd go for the toast... And you can either get juice or cappuccino. I really enjoyed the cappuccino! It was actually Better than a few other places that I went to... Lol

We had the private bathroom, which was nice cause then we didn't have to share and bring all our stuff back and forth, but it's a separate room,not a connected bathroom. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. It's not a new place so don't expect luxury. The mattress was too soft for my liking... But my husband slept well. I was also trying to get over my jet lag!

If you arrive later in the afternoon or evening, please remember that the owners of the restaurant downstairs, is the same owners as the Inn. You could be ringing that bell for the inn for a long time..., but someone is always at the restaurant so just tell them you're staying at the independence inn and someone will check you in :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Silly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Hostel is really close to the main station termini and therefore a really good choice if you want to discover rome with buses and the metro. The room was really clean, also were the WC and shower. The breakfast was also pretty good, the owner was very helpful and was always eager to help us, giving us a lot of useful tipps which buses we had to catch and which attractions and museums we had to discover.
All in all, it was a really nice stay in the centre of rome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_humanBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is really close to termini station (5min by walk). Host was helpful, give us informations about neighborhood and give us a map of Rome. Also we booked a room with shared bathroom, but get one with private one for the same price. That was nice suprise:)
Room are not big, but really clean. Reccomend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozlanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

tiny double room with tiny bathroom but clean and very near to the Termini Station. small breakfast included (croissants, coffee, tea), quiet despite the street view. decent quality for this price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great choice for cost conscious travellers. We paid about half of what we normally pay at a nearby hotel. The rooms were very basic but very comfortable. For some reason we had to change rooms on our second night. The rooms were quite different in character, as you can see in the photo's. Pino, the host was fantastic. The location is great. A short walk to Termini. Will definitely stay here on my next Roman holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliRob56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We've stayed there for 3 nights, the room was very clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly. The best and breakfast is located less than 5 minutes walk from termini station and nearby all attractions.
I would definitely recommend this B&B if you looking for good budget accommodation. Don't forget to try the restaurant downstairs, they served delicious Italian food for cheap price!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CeluFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Went to Rome for my 21st birthday with my friends we stayed in here! It was amazing! The Bed and Breakfast clean! And we loved Pino who made the best coffee ever he was really helpful and told us where to visit, the beach he recommended was so beautiful! would recommend this place to everyone! it was quiet at night and safe... Pino if you are reading this we miss you and no one makes coffee like you! Hope to visit again soon! love the English countyside girls (Millie, Jasmine, Danielle and laura) haha xxxxxxxx

P.s Great links to all transport including coach to airport- 5 five minute walk there is also a train station there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#218 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Square

Address: Via Castelfidardo 78, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,699 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $48 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Independence Square 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing