We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CityRoom Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,389 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Quiet Location”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Giovanna was a great host, and started by picking us up at the airport. The B&B is one apartment within a building; it's not in the heart of Rome but on a quiet street within the city walls and an easy walk to the metro. It has a lovely courtyard in front that's well tended. Our room was small but perfectly suitable, and it even had a balcony! There was plenty of storage for our belongings, including a small refrigerator to freeze our water bottles each day. Giovanni brought a lovely breakfast to our room each morning before we started our sightseeing.

An ATM, pharmacy and metro are all within a 5-minute walk. More about Metro: If you plan on staying for at least 5 days, I recommend getting the 7-day metro card. With it, you can use bus, tram or subway. It's well worth the price of the ticket and you can get anywhere in the city using on of them.

There were only 2 negative things about it:

1. The walls were thin. The people upstairs seemed to be moving furniture around one night while we were trying to sleep and the you could also hear your neighbors next door. But the noise was rare.

2. The pillows were very hard and not comfortable at all. I ended up taking an extra blanking and rolling up to use as my pillow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blare246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirchlinteln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

very clean room with an own bathroom which is also clean. Towels are there. Italien breakfast is served in the room. The room is cleaned every day. Very kind and individual support by the host Giovanni who is always on the phone when you need him. the location of the B&B is pretty good, the metro and several bus lines are closed, but it is also not far to walk to the ancient sites in the city. It is possible to be picked up by at the airport by car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadett11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a week this October. The owner, Giovanni, was very helpful when we turned up and he spoke pretty good English too. The room was clean and a good size as was the bathroom. The shower could have done with being a bit bigger, but I'm 6'4" so I'm used to it. The breakfast was nice and there was plenty of it.
My only slight criticism would be that the walls are pretty thin and the room isn't double glazed, so if you're a light sleeper you might want to think of taking some earplugs. That being said we only got disturbed once when 2 couples were leaving early one morning.
The location is excellent for both the Metro and for buses with the station and bus stops being only a very short walk from the B&B. There's even a handy cash point very close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildkardde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, convenient and peaceful. The owners could not have been more helpful. We liked having breakfast brought to our room as we don't feel like having to turn up in a hotel dining room first thing - this was much more convenient and relaxing. It's only 5 minutes from a tube station which were easy to use and good value. Only about 15 minutes walk to the Colosseum. Really pleasant and good value place to stay in Rome. The room had a fridge and there was a kettle for tea and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getaway018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in October for a short 5 day break. Giovanni's son picked us up from the airport and took us back on our return. This is quite an old apartment building and a couple of apartments have been turned into B & B's. Breakfast is bought to your room in the morning on a tray and is enough to get you started for the day, the coffee was excellent. The en-suite room was very clean. All the rooms are colour themed. We were in the orange room! The apartment is in a good location, opposite a market selling fruit and veg, only a short walk to the metro and about a 10 min walk to the Colosseum. The price was also good at 80 euros per night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana19530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of July 2010 and it was amazing. Giovanni the hotel owner met us in the street (well we stumbled across him as we couldn't find the entrance!), and he took us up to the apartment/b&b and showed us our room. It was really nice, well decorated and clean, a decent size and it had a balcony! The bathroom was nice and pretty new too. There was a TV with digital channels, mainly Italian, but we didn't go to Rome to stay in and watch TV! There was a small table and chairs where Giovanni's wife brought us breakfast on a tray every morning. It was a really nice continental breakfast, with plenty to keep you going until pizza at lunch! The breakfast was served at anytime we wanted between 8 and 10 so that was good. The apartment block was really nice and boutique with an old cage style lift in the middle of the stairs.
The hotel was located just next to San Giovanni Cathedral and sqaure just outside the old city walls, and the metro station was only a 2 minute walk. There were plenty of buses into the centre where the metro didn't go to as well.
I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone. At this price it was a bargain for the standard of accomodation and level of service. Giovanni was extremely helpful and explained where all the sights were and how to get there, and also recommended some fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

My wife and I (in our fifties) just returned from Italy and spent 5 nights at Via Veio 52. The B&B is on the 4th floor of a typical Rome apartment building, and has only a few rooms. We like very much the neighborhood. It is only a block from the metro, and then 4 or 5 stops take you to the center of Rome, but it's far enough out to have more of a typical (non-touristy) neighborhood feel. Our first room was small, at the back of the building, with a large window, and then we moved to a larger room at the front of the building, also with a large window. We slept at night with the windows partly open with no problems. There is of course some street noise but you are high enough up that it's not annoying, and the street itself is a short, narrow side street without much traffic. Close by are a bank, restaurants, Internet cafe, a market, drug store, etc.

The rooms are very clean and basic, with comfortable (for us) beds. The kitchen is small and breakfast is simply self-service, with cereal, yogurt, or toast with juice, and access to a refrigerator, toaster, sink, etc. There is coffee, or head out on the street and in 5 minutes you can take your cappucino at a lively bar / shop.

We walked in the neighborhood several evenings and the area seems quite safe.

We were very happy here and I must express appreciation for the exceptional kindness of the owner, Bernardo. We would be pleased to stay there again, and Rome is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
City Rooms
#2,270 of 3,692 in Rome
50 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,214 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,750 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,263 in Rome
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityRoom Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityRoom Bed & Breakfast

Property: CityRoom Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Veio 52, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,389 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CityRoom Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your CityRoom Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing