We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we could ask for in a B&B”
Review of Angeli di Matilde

Angeli di Matilde
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angeli di Matilde
Ranked #3,078 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We had no problems finding Angeli di Matilde using the directions we were given. From Termini, it took about 15-20 minutes on the tram (10 stops). Upon our arrival, we were met by Tonya, who made us feel welcome right away. She showed us how to use the a/c, TV, internet, and explained the breakfast and how to work the coffee machine. Then she gave us maps and information on transportation and answered any questions we had about Rome. Great service and a great host! We paid up front, cash only, and felt right at home!

The room was average in size, and very clean. The bathroom was very small, but it was so nice to have our own bathroom that it didn't matter. The room had a refridgerator, TV and air conditioning. Very comfortable.

The breakfast was your standard European breakfast, all self-service, consisting of juice, coffee, milk, cereal, breads, pastries and yogurt.

The location, while not in central Rome, was easily accessible by tram and in a normal working-class neighborhood. The area always felt safe, even at night. Tonya directed us to a GREAT restaurant called LA SOSTA DI ROMOLO E REMO. Take a right out of the B&B, your first left, and it's on the left. 5 minute walk. Great, inexpensive food. We went there twice.

I highly recommend this B&B for anyone on a budget looking for a cozy, easily accessible, friendly place to stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyinjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed in Angeli di Matilde for 3 nights. The room was quite small, more suitable for a couple (we are 3 adults and 1 teenager). Everything was clean and neat, the price was reasonable.

The staffs were very friendly and helpful with ok English. They recommended us to a great local restaurant with very good food and cheap. Breakfast was ok as we expected.

Just one thing, the location was a bit far from the center though it was very convenient to public transport.

If you're looking for a private place for your budget travel, I strongly recommended Angeli di Matilde.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaTrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Upon our arrival at Angeli di Matilde, Tanya made us feel at home instantly. She showed us our room and bathroom, the kitchen and snacks and breakfast foods that were available, the computer (with internet) that was available for our use (with printer), and then even provided maps and directions on how to get around, etc. Not only was the B&B clean and quiet, but we left with new friends. I would highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Rome that is fairly close to city central (10-15 tram ride to Termini), gives you the freedom to come and go as you like (just like any hotel), and also has the nicest people to help make your stay even more enjoyable. Thanks Tanya and Cristian!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The room and bathroom were small, but very clean. The host was extremely friendly and helpful. The neighborhood was a little scary (graffiti and protect-o-guard) but we encountered no problems. Transportation into the city center was close by and easy.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank meemo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed in this B&B in Rome. The people that ran the B&B were very friendly and helpful and they don't make you feel like you are staying in someones house. The room was big, the bathroom was small but clean. The location is about 10 tram stops away from the Termini Station. It is a bit out of the way by the transport is good for getting to places. The area may seem "local" at first but we got used to it. It was good value for money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wedgie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Lory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iolanda93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Florida
Florida
#963 of 1,271 in Rome
197 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#300 of 1,271 in Rome
1,300 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Domus Cavour
Domus Cavour
#116 of 3,734 in Rome
168 reviews
Heart Of Rome
#379 of 3,734 in Rome
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angeli di Matilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angeli di Matilde

Address: Via Muzio Attendolo, 26-00176 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,078 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angeli di Matilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angeli Di Matilde Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing