We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auditorium di Mecenate
Ranked #425 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a great experience here, stayed 4 nights. I did a lot of research in planning our itinerary, but the service was the biggest perk, local guidance on restaurants, sites and the best use of your time while visiting was incredibly helpful. Our room was a decent size, vaulted ceiling and the window opened to the front street so plenty of light. Breakfast was great, and they even provided it before normal hours for us as we had an early flight home. You can walk to many places from here but are also close to the underground tube for further destinations like Vatican City.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 563 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

As some of the other reviews say, the staff and service is excellent. They went out of their way to provide advice and help us arrange our itinerary in Rome.
I am surprised their are criticisms of the rooms. Our room was kept spotless, was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate. It was clean and also had a bidet. The air conditioner was modern and quiet... Why do people expect a 5-star room when they aren't paying top prices?
The location is very convenient. Only a couple of minutes walk to a subway and the surrounding restaurants and cafes were authentic and not overrun with tourists.
If you want a valet to park your Roller don't stay here. If you want very reasonable and comfortable accommodation, you won't be disappointed. By the way, they said they are closing in July and August? for some renovations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff was incredibly helpful and hospitable -- they were the best part about our stay. The location was pretty good, about a 10-15 minute walk from Roma Termini, and pretty close to the Coloseum, Roman Forum, etc. The room and bathroom were on the smaller side. The price was good compared to other spots. My two main complaints were that the hot water was very spotty (hard to get it to warm up and stay warm even for a quick shower) and that the walls were incredibly thin. You can clearly hear anyone in the hallway in the morning, and I spent one night listening to two girls loudly argue with each other in their room for several hours. I pay a bit more to stay somewhere else if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiTownGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff makes up for what the building amd rooms lack. As i read below, room felt like a bare dorm room. I wouldnt say the neighborhood was particualrly nice either (but it was close to the train staition and the Metro). The breakfast in the room was nice and the staff was very nice and helpful.

1  Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently got an email form the manager saying that this hotel is closing down from July to August? Not sure if they overbooked or are actually closing down? We booked and paid, but these guys also own the Condotti Inn near the Spanish steps (which is apparently nicer) so they moved us to this hotel without any additional charge.

Very helpful and the communication was good. But if you are going to book, I suggest you call or email them first to work out what is going on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room we had was very small, the smallest we have had in Italy. Bathroom was small but acceptable. Check-in was fast and efficient as was checkout. We only stayed one night pre-cruise and it was ideal for the short stay, inexpensive but clean. Breakfast was served in room which was a bit difficult given room's small size but was acceptable and breakfast was OK with rolls, croissants etc. Staff were great, informative, helpful and friendly. Would book again for one ortwo night stay but not longer in room we had.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#346 of 1,271 in Rome
436 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#335 of 1,271 in Rome
625 reviews
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#753 of 1,271 in Rome
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#106 of 1,271 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Esquilino
Merulana Inn
Merulana Inn
#526 of 1,271 in Rome
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auditorium di Mecenate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auditorium di Mecenate

Address: Via Dello Statuto 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#127 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#202 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $54 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Auditorium di Mecenate 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auditorium di Mecenate is a modern Hotel , which aims to capture the traditional spirit of Roman's hospitality and traditions. Located in an old building in a unique Umbertino style Area (King Umberto II), ideally positioned for those who wants being able to have quick access to principal areas of historical and tourist interest that only Rome can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Auditorium di Mecenate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auditorium Di Mecenate Rome
Auditorium Di Mecenate Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing