We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Flavius
Ranked #1,332 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The first thing you should realize is that bed and breakfasts in Italy are different than in the U.S. By this, I mean that they can do whatever they want, including not being there the day you make your reservation. My boyfriend and I had booked a room there for 4 nights online a few months before our arrival and thought we had found a fantastic deal. Once we arrived, we found that it was a big apartment building and we had to push a buzzer to get into the building. Pressing the buzzer several times yielded no answer. A guy who lived in the building let us in and we proceed to the door of the B&B to find it closed and locked. After pressing the doorbell several times, no one answered. We decided to wait on the stairs for about a half hour but still no one showed up. Back downstairs we went. We tried calling them using the number on the business card left on the door. No response. Obviously they did not want our business so we found a different place to stay. This was a very stressful, frustrating start to our stay in Rome. Though their website looks great, I don't think that this place actually runs as a B&B. I wouldn't waste your time/money/energy with this place. Near by we found the Hotel Celio which was fantastic though a bit more than we were wanting to pay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast Flavius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The B&B is very well located, really close to the Colisseo. The bedroom is big and very clean. The owner is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good. We recommend this place for a great stay in Rome!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place was recommended last minute by an Italian friend of mine. We booked the last room without really knowing what the deal is about.

We got there to find an apartment, with very clean divided rooms and en-suite bathrooms or external ones, but for private use of the room.

It is very central, walking distance to the Colosseum, a 5 minute bus ride to Termini, main station. Always very clean and most importantly, the family-like vibe that Riccardo and his parents give is very highly appreciated.

You just need to know beforehands that you can easily hear people talking in another room if they are slightly loud. This means, keep it low lovers, and if you sleep very early and never like any noise waking you up - maybe it wouldnt score very well with you on that side.

Room Tip: Ensuite bathrooms are very small. You may choose a room with an external bathroom if you'd want...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at B&B Flavius for two nights and it was a lovely stay. The staff was helpful (if a bit quiet) and the place was clean and well-maintained. It certainly can't be beat for the price and location. If you're planning to hit any of the ancient monuments (particularly the Forum and Colosseum), this is the place to stay. It's literally five minutes walking distance down the street. How can you beat that? It may not be the most glamorous of locations (and the walls, beware, are pretty thin, so if your fellow travelers are planning on a late night, you WILL know), but it'll do nicely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was staying one night in Rome and am a woman travelling alone. This lovely B&B is close to the Colosseum and about 30 mins easy walk from the termini railway station . It is on the 5 th floor and you need to let them know when you are arriving as they have to go there to meet you. There are 3 lovely rooms very clean and quiet . I had an ensuite but I think one of the rooms has an outside bathroom . The lift works there is plenty of hot water, wifi and a tv and you get keys for your room, the b&b and the front door, all very secure. It is on a lovely cobbled street with a banco close and a few eateries.continental Breakfast with great coffee is served on the rooftop terrace with fantastic views of Rome, I would definitely stay there again they are very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Try and get an ensuite but even the shared bathroom ok as only 3 rooms and 2 have an ensuite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Flavius was our first stay for our European trip and it was exactly what we were after. We arranged an airport transfer with Flavius for when we arrived and it was well worth the 45 EUR, the car was waiting when we arrived and made the transition super easy after a long flight. We arrived at about 8am and were able to check in straight away. The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the colesseum. It is also close to the metro and buses so everything in Rome is so accessible. The staff are so friendly and were really helpful. The rooms were comfortable, and the deck is wonderful. Each afternoon we would pick up a few beers on our way home and sit out on the deck.

In summary, excellent value for money. Was so impressed with this place and would happily recommend to anyone coming to Rome.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Minutes away from the Colosseum, it's a great B&B in the heart of Rome. Easy access to all major sights by bus.
The view from the rooftop terrace is pretty amazing too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#362 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,223 of 3,709 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Flavius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Flavius

Address: Via di San Giovanni in Laterano 250, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,332 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed and Breakfast Flavius 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Flavius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing