We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Family Experience with a view of St. Peter's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da Maria Jose a San Pietro B&B
Ranked #1,292 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This B&B and hostess is without peer with regard to location, price, service, cleanliness, and security. Not only can you see the dome of St. Peter's from the balcony or your bedroom window, but the spacious apartment is secure and very clean. We are a family of four with two small children, and I cannot recommend this B&B any more for a family. Easy, short walk to St. Peter's, with multiple restaurants in the area. Maria was a wonderful host, and was easily able to communicate with us. While staying with Maria, both our children woke up sick, and she was a wonderful host, who helped us get them feeling better and able to move on to our next stop. She extended our stay (no charge), helped with the pharmacy, and called us a cab in order to help us with a challenging situation. If you want to read about St. Peter's while in bed, and put your book down, look out the window, and actually see the dome, and not spend a ton of $$$, while you are treated like family, and not just another customer, then this place is for you.

Room Tip: Either room is outstanding.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Da Maria Jose a San Pietro B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Maria is an absolutely wonderful hostess! The apartment is clean and so spacious (especially by European standards), with an amazing view. We had the room with the blue curtains and it was exactly as pictured. Breakfast was delicious, especially the apricot croissants. St Peter's square was only about a 7 min walk and the bus line is about 2 blocks over. Maria even helped us buy tickets to the Vatican museum. We couldn't be happier with everything about this B&B and we can't wait to return. Thank you Maria!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsbb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Maria was a wonderful hostess; our room was actually the one in the profile pic of the b&b w/the blue curtains. Super comfortable bed, very clean, spacious, and the best view of St. Peters from the balcony w/a small table and chairs; so perfect for a pre-dinner or post-dinner drink. Breakfast was normal European food: croissant, coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt.
Maria kindly let us use her laptop the last day when ours crashed and she also booked our shuttle service (31euros for 2 people) to depart, which was very convenient.
Location: great if you want to be in close to the Vatican and fine if you are only staying a few days, but if you are staying longer or want to explore more, you would need to figure out the bus system or taxi. We are two young adults without kids, no the metro (subway) and late night taxis was fine for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

You couldn't ask for a better location if you want to be in the Vatican area. The view of St. Peters from out balcony was exactly as pictured on the webpage. Room was clean and quiet with air conditioning. Maria was very helpfull and when there were any difficulties in communications her Google translator program worked fine. She was able to recommend a wonderful local restaurant and provide helpfull toursist information. If we are back to Rome hopefully we will be able to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianTbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Location: Right next to to The Vatican. It's a 10 mins walk to the entrance... (5 stars)

Surrounding: Quiet with some restaurants around the corner. Our room was on the 5th floor so you can hear cars whizzing past in the middle of night. Take note if you are a light sleeper. (3 stars)

Room: Neat and clean. It was like staying 'at home'. Our room was previously a boy's room as there were still clothes, books, photos and CDs all over. (2 stars)

Breakfast: Very much the same everyday (bread, jams, coffee/tea, yoghurt, juice and fruits) but it was really yummy. (4 stars)

Extras: They placed 2 bottles of water for us in the room in the evening (sort of a turn down service) which was nice. Bathroom (not attached) was big and clean and water pressure is really powerful. (4 stars)

Overall, it was nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Maria Jose was a great host, we felt very at home and the breakfast was just perfect. The location is great, and the views from the windows are very nice, I also loved hearing the birds in the morning,so calming. The place was very clean and neat, and there was air conditioning for those hot days. I would definitely recommend this B+B to anyone interested.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We found the B&B on TripAdvisor and decided to stay there because of its proximity to attractions (mainly, San Pietro Cathedral) and good value. For the group of six people, the price was great! Unfortunately, we were not able to stay on the same floor (the B&B takes two apartments in a building), but the stay was nevertheless very pleasant. Maria was very helpful and accomodating, providing her advice on our itinerary and even allowing us to make passport copies for personal needs. We were very happy with breakfast as well - very simple fare (yogurt, coffee, croissants, fruit), but always very fresh.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuertoRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#369 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,137 of 3,710 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Maria Jose a San Pietro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Maria Jose a San Pietro B&B

Address: Via Leone IX 4 | Flat N. 10 - 4th Floor, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,292 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Maria Jose a San Pietro B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rome, in our Bed & Breakfast 200 meters far from Saint Peter's Basilica. From our balconies on the 4th floor you can admire the dome and the Vatican’s garden. Maria José, Lusitanian lady, will receive you with elegant kindness and fancy in a refined and comfortable atmosphere. The Bed and Breakfast is perfectly situated to reach the most important and interesting places of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Da Maria Jose a San Pietro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing