We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, charming, clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #29 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent location, charming, clean...”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Excellent location, charming, clean. Would definitely go back and recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    207
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
210
411
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at this charming little hotel 3 nights at the beginning of Ferbruary. Our first impression of Rome hadn`t been that great ( we got robbed at the Termini just after we arrived) but as soon as we got to the Residenza Santa Maria took the wonderful Chiara great care of us and made us feel at home. The location of this hotel is great with walking distance to almost everywhere. Guiet lovely neibourghood, we just loved Trastevere. Our room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable, bathroom luxourios with a great shower with a plenty of hot water. Breakfast was also very nice served at the lovely atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful, special thanks to Chiara!!! This was our first trip to Rom but definitely not the last one. And next time we will most definitely stay at the Residenza Santa Maria again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippi73Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Beautiful hotel, good breakfast, cozy and well equipped, lovely designed rooms with great facilities, perfect location, unbeatable value. Clearly one of the best hotels i've ever been to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Just spent 3 nights in the Residenzia Santa Maria with my girlfriend and we had a fantastic time, the hotel is located within walking distance of all the main sights (we did get the bus (Number 23)to the vatican but realistically its in easy walking distance). Trastevere has many good bars and restaurants all within 2 minutes from the hotel. The breakfast was great and the staff could not be more helpfull, there is free wifi and also a comunal lap top in reception. The pictures on the web really do not do it justice and make the hotel/b&B look quite dated when it really is quite the opposite. If managment read this i would recommend modernising your website as again it does not do your lovely little establishment justice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_k77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

At first, the graffiti on the walls of Trastevere was a little off-putting...but it soon faded from sight when the charm of this section of Rome swept us off our feet! Visited for 4 days in February with our 20-something daughter (a Christmas present from her!), and we were totally charmed. Our room was large and comfortable, perfect for 3 people. Loved the free use of the computer in the lobby, and the more than adequate breakfast each morning. The streets of Trastevere are narrow and cobblestoned, and FULL in the evenings, even in February! We loved exploring, shopping, sampling the baked goods and cappuchino in the many nearby shops and cafes. There are so many GREAT restaurants nearby, it's hard to make a decision! But one of our favorites was Le Mani in Pasta, a 10 minute walk (37 Via dei Genovesi...try the Spaghetti alla Vernaccia, or Tagliolini cacio e pepe...mmmmmmmm). TIP: make a reservation, it's great food at great prices and is maxed out every night! Another 10 minute walk takes you to a taxi stand OR the trolley stop, for a very quick and inexpensive trip across the Tiber to the historic sites of Rome. If you have a lot of time, it's even within walking distance. Ask any taxi to bring you back to the Ponte Garibaldi, and you are a 5 minute walk from the Inn, (although do-able, it is difficult for taxi's to take you to the door step, due to the narrow roads, and we always enjoyed the walk!). The staff was always warm and more than willing to help with recommendations, directions, umbrella's, etc.

We always felt safe, welcomed, and we would go back in a minute; AND have already recommended this place to friends for a September trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earlybird14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We are just back from 3 nights in Rome (early Feb 2010) - staying at Residenza Santa Maria - we had the family room - 2 adults / 2 children (6 & 8)

very clean rooms / very comfortable / best shower ever - fabulous breakfast - great location - easy to walk to colosseum & forums (20 mins) or to St Peters also 20 mins (although lots of buses over the bridge - for the kids tired legs on the way back!)

Lovely atmosphere in Trastavere in the evening - faboulous restaurants and lots of them very very reasonable.

If you like smaller hotels / b&bs for a quieter / personal stay - but still want to stay somewhere lovely - this is the place....I booked due to the recommendations on trip advisor - so take our word for it.

What a perfect time to go to Rome - no queues -and what a perfect place to stay.

Also to mention took the H bus from Station Termini to Trastavere & back again - very easy & quick.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Residenza Santa Maria was a visually pleasing, very quiet & very centrally located B & B. The staff was accomodating and helpful, the room was lovely and spotless and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was absolutely delicious and very large (big enough to skip lunch). We would definitely stay there again if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,259 in Rome
2,903 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#9 of 1,259 in Rome
396 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,259 in Rome
1,147 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,259 in Rome
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Property: Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing